2011 Indian Premier League Fixtures Revealed

2011 Indian Premier League Fixtures Revealed
2011 Indian Premier League Fixtures Revealed

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has revealed the fixtures for the fourth season of the Indian Premier League (IPL), which will get underway on 8th April.

The competition gets underway just six days following the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 final when reigning champions the Chennai Super Kings meet the Kolkata Knight Riders in Chennai.

That game is followed by two double-headers on the Saturday and Sunday when Deccan Chargers play Rajasthan Royals, Kochi play the Royal Challengers Bangalore, Delhi Daredevils take on the Mumbai Indians and Pune play Kings XI Punjab.

A new format to the competition means that with ten teams now participating, the franchises will not meet each other home and away and a new play-off system will see the top two sides in the league standings play each other to determine the first finalist. The sides finishing third and fourth will then meet to determine which side plays the loser of the first play-off for the second final place.

The match between the top two sides will be played on 25th May, the 'eliminator' match will be on 26th May - both in Mumbai. The final qualification play-off will then be played on 27th May ahead of the final on 28th May, scheduled to be held in Chennai.

Rajasthan Royals won the inaugural competition in 2008 and the Deccan Chargers were the champions in 2009, when the tournament was held in South Africa.

© Cricket World 2011