28 Universities Set To Battle For Chanderpaul Trophy

In March 2009, five new college teams, with practically no practice playing together stepped out on cricket fields in Florida to compete for the Chanderpaul Trophy & a National title for the first time. They earned a big story in the NY Times of March 24, 2009.

In 2010 the American College Cricket Spring Break Championship set a record by having 47 matches in 5 days, which it broke in 2011 when 30 teams competed in 5 days in a record 67 matches – the largest ever cricket tournament in the world.

This March, 28 teams will compete & get the chance to play on TV Asia across USA & Canada, with Coca Cola as the major, and Dish Network the supporting sponsor.

University of Maryland Baltimore Cty
University of Pennsylvania
University of Buffalo
University of South Florida
Florida International University
Auburn University
University of South Alabama
University of Memphis 
Carnegie Mellon University
Montgomery College                         
Harvard University
Penn State University
Arkansas State University 
Texas A & M University
Texas Tech University
University of Houston Cougars
University of Houston Clearlake Hawks
Virginia Tech University
Ohio State University
Ryerson University                            
Iowa State University
Embry Riddle Aeronautical University
George Washington University  
West Virginia University
Boston University
University of Texas Arlington
Wayne State University
Phoenix East Aviation  
Each year there will be clubs which don’t make it for a variety of reasons, and each year there are newcomers, ecstatic to be playing in the Nationals, & ready to kiss the ground when the step on the field, just like the first players did in 2009 !

So March 13 – 17, over 400 college students will have the best Spring Break of their lives, and give their all on the cricket fields of Florida – they’ll live out their fantasy of being a cricket star, & competing at a high level ! As Wayne State U’s Dhruv Pharmar said, “ I’ve been dreaming of this all my life …thank you for the opportunity.”

The 2013 American College Cricket Spring Break Championship will be dedicated to Colin Michael Jodah (brother of Lloyd) who was an important part of American College Cricket, behind the scenes. Among other contributions, despite being legally blind, Colin did the schedule for the record setting 2010 & 2011 as well as the 2012 National Championships. He died Jan 18 at age 56.

American College Cricket founder Lloyd Jodah said, “With those record-breaking schedules, I don't know what I would have done with out Mike. My brother & I shared a lot,  most of our lives, cricket, music, our sense of humor and much more. I’ll really miss him.”

Lloyd Jodah