Afridi Earns Another Pakistan Recall

Afridi Earns Another Pakistan Recall
©Action Images

Pakistan have made major changes to the squad that failed to win a match in the recently concluded ICC Champions Trophy as they prepare for limited-overs series in the West Indies later this month.

Shahid Afridi makes his umpteenth return to Pakistan colours and is included in both One-Day International and Twenty20 International squads alongside Ahmed Shehzad and Umar Akmal. Also named in the ODI squad are batsman Haris Sohail and wicket-keeper Mohammad Rizwan.

Rizwan is named as Umar Akmal’s understudy behind the stumps, with Kamran Akmal’s yo-yo career continuing as he is dropped alongside experienced all-rounder Shoaib Malik. Also missing from the Champions Trophy squad are Ehsan Adil, who didn’t feature in the competition, and Imran Farhat, who was dropped after two matches.

The T20I squad has seen less changes since its last assignment, against South Africa in March, with Malik and Kamran Akmal again making way, this time for all-rounder Hammad Azam and Haris Sohail, and Sohail Tanvir replacing the still-injured Umar Gul.

Pakistan’s tour starts with a warm-up match in Guyana on 11th July, with two One-Day Internationals then following at the same venue before the teams move to St Lucia for the final three matches. There are then two Twenty20 Internationals on 27th and 28th July in St Vincent.

Pakistan ODI squad: Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Nasir Jamshed, Mohammad Hafeez, Asad Shafiq, Saeed Ajmal, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Irfan, Asad Ali, Wahab Riaz, Umar Amin, Abdur Rehman,  Ahmed Shehzad, Umar Akmal, Shahid Afridi, Mohammad Rizwan, Haris Sohail.

Pakistan T20I squad: Mohammad Hafeez (captain), Nasir Jamshed, Ahmed Shehzed, Haris Sohail, Umar Akmal, Hammad Azam, Shahid Afridi, Saeed Ajmal, Sohail Tanvir, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Irfan, Asad Ali, Umar Amin, Zulfiqar Babar, Junaid Khan.

© Cricket World 2013