Mendis Rips Through Australia As Sri Lanka Win Again

Mendis Rips Through Australia As Sri Lanka Win Again
Mendis Rips Through Australia As Sri Lanka Win Again
©REUTERS/Dinuka Liyanawatte (SRI LANKA - Tags: SPORT CRICKET) Picture Supplied by Action Images

Sri Lanka 157-9 (Jayawardene 86) beat
Australia 149-9 (Watson 57) by eight runs
Second Twenty20 International, Pallekele

Sri Lanka held on to win the second Twenty20 International against Australia by eight runs and claim the series 2-0 in Pallekele.

Set 158 to win, Australia looked to be on course for a victory after Shane Watson blasted 57 in 24 balls but it was not to be, Ajantha Mendis taking six for 16 to help Sri Lanka follow up their 35-run success in the opening game.

Mendis's incredible spell included the wickets of Steven Smith (12), Brad Haddin (0) and Mitchell Johnson (7) who were all bowled as Australia lost their way and he became the first bowler to take six wickets in a Twenty20 International.

They went from 71 for nought to 75 for four and then from 113 for four to 144 for nine, eventually closing on 149 for nine in reply to Sri Lanka's 157 for nine.

Sri Lanka were also brilliant in the field, a relayed catch between Angelo Mathews and Mahela Jayawardene dismissing the dangerous David Warner off the bowling of Mendis to start the first collapse.

Watson smashed six fours and five sixes and captain Cameron White hit 39 in 32 balls but aside from that, there were precious few contributions.

Earlier, Jayawardene starred with bat as he made 86 in 63 deliveries during a fine innings that included 12 fours and one six.

Kumar Sangakkara (24) and Dinesh Chandimal (13) were the only other players to reach double figures as Brett Lee and John Hastings took three wickets apiece.

However, following some magic weaved by Mathews and then Mendis, Sri Lanka thrilled their home fans by defending what had at the halfway stage looked like a competitive score, but nothing better.

Sri Lanka won the opening match by 35 runs thanks to a Tillakaratne Dilshan unbeaten century.

© Cricket World 2011