Friday 10 January 2014 

Arguing With The Umpire - Right Or Wrong?

Watch this clip of Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni debating a mistake made by the umpiring team during an ODI in Australia. Is it ever right to argue with the umpires?

On this occasion, the third umpire pressed the wrong button, giving Mike Hussey out, before his on-field colleagues were advised to overturn the decision and bring Hussey back.

This did not go down very well with Dhoni and his team-mates, and Dhoni can be seen remonstrating with Billy Bowden.

Even if an obvious error has been made, is it ever the right thing to do to argue with the umpire? Have you ever seen it in a game you've been involved in?

© Cricket World 2014

Hi there. My name is Umpire Ted, but you can call me the Furred Umpire. I look after all aspects of the Global Cricket Community.