Australia Hand 20 Players Central Contracts

Australia Hand 20 Players Central Contracts
Australia Hand 20 Players Central Contracts
©REUTERS / Action Images

Cricket Australia (CA) have named their list of contracted players for the 2013-14 season, handing 20 players central contracts.

The Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between CA and the Australian Cricketers' Association (ACA) allows CA to pick between 17 and 20 players each season.

With the Champions Trophy followed by back-to-back Ashes series on the horizon, three more players have been given contracts than last year, although 26 players ended the year with CA contracts after earning upgrades via appearances.

Of those players, George Bailey, Ed Cowan, James Faulkner, Phillip Hughes, Glenn Maxwell and Clint McKay have been handed central contracts.

The three contracted players from 2012-13 who are not on the list are Ricky Ponting and Michael Hussey, who have both retired from international cricket, and David Hussey.

The National Selection Panel (NSP) revealed that Jackson Bird, Aaron Finch, Moises Henriques, Usman Khawaja and Steve Smith were close to earning contracts before missing out.

Australia contracted list 2013-14: Michael Clarke (Test, ODI captain), George Bailey (T20I captain), Ed Cowan, Patrick Cummins, Xavier Doherty, James Faulkner, Brad Haddin, Ryan Harris, Ben Hilfenhaus, Phillip Hughes, Mitchell Johnson, Nathan Lyon, Glenn Maxwell, Clint McKay, James Pattinson, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Shane Watson

© Cricket World 2013

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.