Australia Name Preliminary ICC WT20 Squads

Australia Name Preliminary ICC WT20 Squads
Australia Name Preliminary ICC WT20 Squads
©Action Images / Jason Cairnduff

Australia have named their 30-member preliminary squads for the upcoming ICC World Twenty20 tournaments in the Caribbean.

The men's team will be captained by recently-appointed Twenty20 captain Michael Clarke and they will be hoping to improve on its best performance to date of reaching the semi-finals in 2007, the same stage at which the women fell in 2009, losing to eventual champions England.

The Women will play England, South Africa and the West Indies in their group while the men take on Pakistan and Bangladesh.

“The NSP (National Selection Panel) has today announced Australia’s preliminary 30-player squad for the ICC World Twenty20 in the Caribbean which will be reduced closer to the event," NSP chairman Andrew Hilditch commented.

“The Australian Twenty20 team has played well in recent times with a solid win against reigning champions Pakistan and also against the West Indies at home this summer. The squad also has two matches against New Zealand over the coming days and the NSP will be watching performances closely.

“We consider the squad to contain a good blend of youth and experience with several players who have excelled in Twenty20 cricket both internationally and domestically this year.

“From this 30 we hope to pick a final World Twenty20 squad that if it plays to its ability will be a very exciting, entertaining and extremely competitive team in the Caribbean.”

Christina Matthews, chair of the Women's selection panel (WNSP), added:

“The inaugural WNCL Twenty20 competition has for the first time provided the WNSP with an opportunity to see players consistently play this format across the season and this has enabled the WNSP to select a well balanced and versatile Twenty20 squad which provides us plenty of options ahead of final squad selection.”

“Injured captain Jodie Fields has been selected in the 30-player squad and her rehabilitation will be monitored closely.”

Australia men's preliminary ICC WT20 squad: George Bailey, Travis Birt, Doug Bollinger, Nathan Bracken, Daniel Christian, Michael Clarke, Ben Cutting, Xavier Doherty, Brad Haddin, Ryan Harris, John Hastings, Nathan Hauritz, Moises Henriques, Brad Hodge, James Hopes, David Hussey, Mike Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Andrew McDonald, Shaun Marsh, Clint McKay, Dirk Nannes, Tim Paine, Steven Smith, Shaun Tait, Adam Voges, David Warner, Shane Watson, Cameron White

Australia women's preliminary ICC WT20 squad: Sarah Andrews, Kristen Beams, Alex Blackwell, Kris Britt, Melissa Bulow, Jessica Cameron, Sarah Coyte, Lauren Ebsary, Sarah Elliott, Rene Farrell, Jodie Fields, Katelyn Fryatt, Rachael Haynes, Alyssa Healy, Julie Hunter, Jessica Jonassen, Delissa Kimmince, Meg Lanning, Renee Melton, Shelley Nitschke, Erin Osbourne, Ellyse Perry, Kirsten Pike, Leah Poulton, Angela Reakes, Lisa Sthalekar, Selena Tainton, Elyse Villani, Julie Woerner, Laura Wright

© Cricket World 2010