Australia Name Settled World T20 Squad

Australia Name Settled World T20 Squad
Australia Name Settled World T20 Squad
©REUTERS/Philip Brown. Picture Supplied by Action Images

Australia have named their 15-man squad for next month’s World Twenty20 and have sprung no surprises, naming the same players that were picked in July to compete in the forthcoming three match Twenty20 series against Pakistan in the UAE.

National selector John Inverarity said of the squad selected, “A real strength of the squad is its flexibility and versatility. It's a well-balanced side that will provide the captain, George Bailey, with plenty of options in both the batting line-up and bowling possibilities.

"The seam bowling has depth with Clint McKay, Pat Cummins, Ben Hilfenhaus and Mitch Starc along with all-rounders Shane Watson and Dan Christian, and to a lesser extent Michael Hussey, who could be useful for an occasional over or two. Similarly there is depth in the spin bowling department with Brad Hogg, Xavier Doherty and also all-rounders Glenn Maxwell and David Hussey. You can then add to that the possibility of the wrist spin of Cameron White and David Warner.

"There is a great deal of explosive strike power in the batting line-up that could see Matthew Wade at six, Cameron White at seven and either Dan Christian or Glenn Maxwell at eight. There is also a good blend of left and right-handers with David Warner, Michael Hussey and Wade likely to be in the top seven.

"The ICC World Twenty20 promises to be a very exciting event as T20 cricket is so unpredictable. Our squad will be well prepared and we look forward to them playing some outstanding cricket and acquitting themselves especially well."

Australia play the first of three Twenty20 Internationals against Pakistan on 5th September, with the others on the 7th and 10th. They then travel to Sri Lanka, where they will play Ireland in their first match on 19th September.

The ICC announced earlier today that the deadline for submitting final squads for the tournament has been extended by six days after “receiving requests from several of its members.” They must now be submitted by 24th August.

Australia T20I squad: George Bailey (captain), Dan Christian, Pat Cummins, Xavier Doherty, Ben Hilfenhaus, Brad Hogg, David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Glenn Maxwell, Clint McKay, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade (wicket-keeper), David Warner, Shane Watson, Cameron White.

© Cricket World 2012




Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.

ICC WT20 Final Video