Australia Name Squad To Return To New Zealand

Australia Name Squad To Return To New Zealand
Australia Name Squad To Return To New Zealand
©Action Images / Carl Recine

The Australia Women squad which will travel to New Zealand to complete a five-match Twenty20 International series and play three ODIs has been named, showing two changes from the victorious Ashes squad.

Into the squad for the three remaining Twenty20 matches come Annie Maloney and Clea Smith as Erin Osborne and Julie Hunter miss out.

“The Women’s National Selection Panel (WNSP) has today announced a 14-player squad for the rest of the Rose Bowl Series in New Zealand," chair Christina Matthews said.

“The WNSP has made two changes to the squad that went across to New Zealand just after Christmas for the first two Twenty20 matches with Annie Maloney and Clea Smith coming in for Erin Osborne and Julie Hunter.

“Clea Smith returns to the team after being unavailable for the recent series against England, while young Victorian quick Annie Maloney joins the squad after some impressive performances in domestic cricket during the summer.

“The WNSP wanted to add a little more depth to our pace bowling stocks and we are looking forward to seeing how they go, especially young quick Annie Maloney.

“She is a 21-year-old fast bowler who has taken 16 wickets in one-day and Twenty20 matches so far this season for Victoria averaging less than 13 in both formats.

“Clea has been around Australian cricket for a while now and has played a quite bit of international cricket as well. She has had a very good season so far for Victoria with 14 wickets at 13.64 in the Women’s Twenty20 competition and will add some extra experience to the squad.

“Regular Captain Jodie Fields continues to be monitored by the WNSP in preparation for Quad Series mid-year and was not considered for this series. Alex Blackwell continues as acting-Captain in Jodie’s absence.”

The series - which Australia lead 1-0 - resumes on 18th February with the final two matches on 19th and 20th February with all three matches taking place at Queens Park.

Three One-Day Internationals will then be played between 24th and 28th February.

Australia Women squad: Alex Blackwell (captain), Shelley Nitschke (vice-captain), Jessica Cameron, Sarah Coyte, Sarah Elliott, Rene Farrell, Rachael Haynes, Alyssa Healy, Meg Lanning, Annie Maloney, Ellyse Perry, Leah Poulton, Clea Smith, Lisa Sthalekar

© Cricket World 2011