Australia Set 201 To Win 2009 Champions Trophy

Australia Set 201 To Win 2009 Champions Trophy
Australia Set 201 To Win 2009 Champions Trophy
©REUTERS/Mike Hutchings (SOUTH AFRICA SPORT CRICKET) Picture Supplied by Action Images

New Zealand 200-9 (Guptill 40, Hauritz 3-37) v Australia

ICC Champions Trophy Final, Centurion

Australia will chase 201 to win the 2009 ICC Champions Trophy after New Zealand could only reach 200 for nine from their 50 overs in the final at Centurion.

New Zealand were dealt a hammer blow ahead of the match when Daniel Vettori was ruled out with a hamstring injury although stand-in captain Brendon McCullum did at least win the toss and decide to bat first against Australia.

Things swiftly took a turn for the worse for the Black Caps, McCullum dismissed for a 14-ball duck when he edged Peter Siddle to wicket-keeper Tim Paine.

An excellent bowling performance that never gave New Zealand the chance to break free saw wickets tumble regularly and only two partnerships of note helped New Zealand breach the 200 barrier, although that only came up when Jeetan Patel slashed Brett Lee for a late boundary.

There were half-century stands between Martin Guptill (40) and Aaron Redmond (26) and later Neil Broom (37) and James Franklin (33), the latter coming after New Zealand were reduced to 94 for five when New Zealand's recent hero Grant Elliott was trapped in front by Nathan Hauritz.

The off-spinner also picked up the wickets of Redmond and Guptill to finish with three for 37, Lee returned two for 45 while Siddle and Mitchell Johnson also picked up a wicket.

Broom and Kyle Mills (12) were run out as Australia took complete control of proceedings.

Australia: Tim Paine, Shane Watson, Ricky Ponting (captain), Michael Hussey, Callum Ferguson, Cameron White, James Hopes, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Nathan Hauritz, Peter Siddle

New Zealand: Brendon McCullum (captain), Aaron Redmond, Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor, Grant Elliott, Neil Broom, James Franklin, Jeetan Patel, Kyle Mills, Ian Butler, Shane Bond

© Cricket World 2009