Australia Turn Barbados Test On Its Head

Australia Turn Barbados Test On Its Head
Australia Turn Barbados Test On Its Head
©REUTERS / Action Images

West Indies 449-9 dec. & 71-5 (Hilfenhaus 3-17) v
Australia 406-9 dec. (Clarke 73, Harris 68no)
First Test, Barbados, day four
| | Day Two | Day Three

Australia turned the first Test against the West Indies in Barbados on its head on the fourth day as they declared behind and took five quick wickets.

After they closed their innings on 406 for nine - 43 runs behind - Ben Hilfenhaus took three wickets to leave the West Indies on 71 for five at stumps, holding a lead of 114.

Although Michael Hussey could add just one run to his overnight 48, a maiden Test half-century from Ryan Harris, who made an unbeaten 68 and 40 not out from Nathan Lyon frustrated the West Indies prior to the declaration.

Hilfenhaus then removed the West Indies' top three batsmen, Peter Siddle dismissed Darren Bravo for 32 and first-innings centurion Shivnarine Chanderpaul was dismissed by Harris for 12 to set up an intriguing final day.

Narsingh Deonarine was unbeaten on 20 and Carlton Baugh on two and they will begin day five needing to put together a significant partnership to keep Australia at bay.

It looked far different early on as the West Indies started strongly, Kemar Roach having Hussey caught behind and Matthew Wade falling for 28 when he was caught by Bravo off Fidel Edwards.

The same combination then accounted for Siddle without scoring and with Wade's dismissal, Australia were 250 for eight.

Harris added 44 for the ninth wicket with Hilfenhaus (24) and then an unbroken stand worth 77 with Lyon for the tenth wicket.

Lyon's 40 not out was also a career best.

Australia's bowlers then put the West Indies under pressure and Hilfenhaus had Adrian Barath bowled for two, Kraigg Brathwaite caught behind without scoring and Kirk Edwards trapped in front for one.

From four for three, Bravo and Chanderpaul attempted to steady the ship until their wickets, late in the day, left the door lightly ajar for Australia.

© Cricket World 2012