Australia Women Seal WT20 Hat-Trick

Coverage in association with Clarus XC

Australia Women 106-4 (Lanning 44) beat
England Women 105-8 (Coyte 3-16) by 6 wickets
ICC Women's World Twenty 2014 Final, Mirpur

Australia won the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 final against England by six wickets in Mirpur, thereby completing a hat-trick of titles.

At the Sher-e-Bangla Stadium, they scored 106 for four to chase down their arch-rivals' inadequate total of 105 for eight, with 29 balls to spare.

Previously, Australia had won the 2012 title by beating England in the final, while they had beaten New Zealand in the 2010 final.

Chasing 106 for their hat-trick, Australia didn’t get off to the best starts, losing Jess Jonasson (15) in the third over with only 17 runs on the board. Her opening partner Elyse Villani (12) though held one end up and added 27 runs for the second wicket with skipper Meg Lanning.

The latter played a winning hand, scoring 44 runs off just 30 balls, as she didn’t allow England to make any more inroads. She hit four fours and two sixes, making light weather of the chase.

After Villani’s dismissal in the seventh over, giving her support was Ellyse Perry, who scored 31 runs off 32 balls. She hit three fours and one six during her stay at the crease, wherein she put up a 60-run stand for the third wicket with Lanning and took her team to the edge of victory.

On the cusp of their third title win, Australia lost Lanning and Alex Blackwell (0) in quick succession, but Perry complete the formalities in the 16th over. Natalie Sciver (2-12) was England’s best bowler, while Anya Shrubsole (1-29) and Jenny Gunn (1-13) took a wicket apiece.

Earlier, Australia won the toss and elected to bowl first. It was once again down to their best bats Sarah Taylor (18) and Charlotte Edwards (13) to give them a heady start and make trouble for Australia. But today they failed to do so, both returning to the dug-out by the tenth over with only 55 runs on the board for the loss of their two wickets.

It was then that Australia sensed blood and went in for the kill, picking up the next six wickets for only 60 runs conceded off the last 61 deliveries in the innings.

Heather Knight was the top scorer with 29 runs off 24 balls, with three fours included in her knock, but she didn’t find any support forthcoming from her team-mates. Only Amy Jones (12) reached double figures from among the middle and lower bats, even as Sarah Coyte (3-16) and Ellyse Perry (2-13) took five wickets between them to wreck the English innings.

Rene Farrell (2-27) and Erin Osborne (1-24) were the other wicket-takers as Australia restricted their opponents to a sub-par total and set up an easy chase.

© Cricket World 2014

Group A: Australia, Ireland, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa Group B: Bangladesh, England, India, Sri Lanka, West Indies Fixtures & Results
23rd March: Australia v New Zealand
New Zealand Women 128-8 (Perkins 31) beat
Australia Women 121 (Blackwell 31) by 7 runs
23rd March: Pakistan v South Africa
South Africa Women 163-0 (van Niekerk 90no) beat
Pakistan Women 119-9 (Kapp 3-16) by 44 runs
24th March: England v West Indies
West Indies Women 133-7 (Taylor 56) beat
England Women 124-9 (Dottin 4-12) by 9 runs
24th March: India v Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka Women 128-8 (Atapattu 43) beat
India Women 106-9 (Prabodhani 2-9) by 22 runs
25th March: Ireland v New Zealand
New Zealand Women 171-3 (Bates 68) beat
Ireland Women 129-4 (C Joyce 41no) by 41 runs
25th March: Australia v South Africa
Australia Women 116-4 (Perry 41no) beat
South Africa Women 115-9 by six wickets
26th March: Bangladesh v West Indies
West Indies Women 115 (Dottin 34) beat
Bangladesh Women 79 (Quintyne 3-5) by 36 runs
26th March: England v India
England Women 98-5 (Taylor 28) beat
India Women 95-9 (Raj 57) by five wickets
27th March: Australia v Ireland
Australia Women 191-4 (Lanning 126) beat
Ireland Women 113-7 (Perry 2-17) by 78 runs
27th March: New Zealand v Pakistan
New Zealand Women 167-3 (Bates 94no) beat
Pakistan Women 108-7 by 59 runs
28th March: Bangladesh v England
England Women 137-5 (Edwards 80) beat
Bangladesh Women 58-9 (Hazell 3-4) by 79 runs
28th March: Sri Lanka v West Indies
West Indies Women 87-2 (Taylor 56no) beat
Sri Lanka Women 84 (Daley 4-15) by 8 wickets
29th March: Ireland v South Africa
South Africa Women 165-5 (Lee 43) beat
Ireland Women 79 (Ismail 3-5) by 86 runs
29th March: Australia v Pakistan
Australia Women 185-2 (Villani 90no) beat
Pakistan Women 91-9 (Perry 3-12) by 94 runs
30th March: Bangladesh v India
India Women 151-4 (Kaur 77, Raj 41) beat
Bangladesh Women 72-8 by 79 runs
30th March: England v Sri Lanka
England Women 86-3 (Taylor 36) beat
Sri Lanka Women 85-9 by seven wickets
31st March: Ireland v Pakistan
Pakistan Women 119-6 (Bismah Maroof 48no) beat
Ireland Women 105 (A Iqbal 3-18) by 14 runs
31st March: New Zealand v South Africa
South Africa Women 116-5 (du Preez 51) beat
New Zealand Women 114-9 by 5 wickets
1st April: Bangladesh v Sri Lanka
Bangladesh Women 115-9 (R Ahmed 41) beat
Sri Lanka Women 112-9 by three runs
1st April: India v West Indies
India Women 121-1 (Raut 56, Raj 55no) beat
West Indies 117-7 (Dottin 57) by nine wickets
3rd April: Semi-Final
Australia Women 140-5 (Villani 35) beat
West Indies Women 132-4 by 8 runs
4th April: Semi-Final
England Women 102-1 (Taylor 44no) beat
South Africa Women 101 by nine wickets
6th April: Final - Australia v England
Australia Women 106-4 (Lanning 44) beat
England Women 105-8 (Coyte 3-16) by 6 wickets