Bailey To Captain Australia As Hogg Makes T20 Return

	Bailey To Captain Australia As Hogg Makes T20 Return
Bailey To Captain Australia As Hogg Makes T20 Return
©REUTERS / Action Images

Australia have drastically overhauled their Twenty20 International squad, naming George Bailey as their new captain and recalling Brad Hogg.

Bailey will lead the side with David Warner as his vice-captain in the two matches against India on 1st and 3rd February.

Hogg last played for his country in March 2008 before retiring but recently made a comeback playing in the KFC Big Bash League for the Perth Scorchers.

Matthew Wade has been named as the wicket-keeper and there is no place in the squad for batsman Michael Hussey as young players Aaron Finch, James Faulkner, Mitchell Marsh and Clint McKay are included.

National Selector John Inverarity explained that Australia needed a new strategy moving forward if they are to improve on their current Twenty20 International ranking of six and challenge at this year's ICC World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka.

"The NSP has been discussing this T20 squad for about six weeks and has unanimously decided on the squad, the captain and the vice-captain," he said.

"The selectors consider this to be a very well balanced T20 squad and look forward to the team acquitting itself very well.

"The NSP has the T20 World Cup to be held in Sri Lanka in September to the fore in its mind with these selections.

"When selecting any cricket team there are 11 spaces on the team sheet and it is the intention of those selecting the team to name the 11 players who will together form the team that will perform best. It is a very simple strategy.

"The T20 squad is a strong all-round team. It has batting depth with a good mix of left and right handers, bowlers who have an abundance of specific T20 skills, excellent fielders, plenty of energy and assertiveness and excellent leadership.

"The NSP is confident the team will acquit itself very well."

Australia T20I squad: George Bailey (captain), David Warner (vice-captain), Travis Birt, Daniel Christian, Xavier Doherty, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Brad Hogg, David Hussey, Brett Lee, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Clint McKay, Matthew Wade

© Cricket World 2012