Bairstow Record Sets Up England Victory

Bairstow Record Sets Up England Victory
Bairstow Record Sets Up England Victory
©REUTERS / Action Images

England 150-7 (Bairstow 60no) beat
Pakistan 112 (Finn 3-30) by 38 runs
Second Twenty20 International, Dubai

Jonathan Bairstow became the youngest Englishman to score a Twenty20 International half-century as his side levelled their three-match series with Pakistan in Dubai courtesy of a 38-run win.

Bairstow's unbeaten 60 in 46 balls guided England to a score of 150 for seven before Pakistan were bowled out for 112 in the 19th over as Steven Finn returned three for 30.

After England's openers Craig Kieswetter (17 in 13 balls) and Kevin Pietersen (31 in 24) had given England a flying start, they lost their way somewhat with Ravi Bopara (1) and Eoin Morgan (9) falling cheaply but they were rescued by Bairstow.

The 22-year-old Yorkshireman struck five fours and two sixes as wickets fell at the other end.

Samit Patel (13) was run out by a direct hit from the boundary by Saeed Ajmal, Jos Buttler (7) was bowled by Umar Gul and captain Stuart Broad was bowled by Aizaz Cheema.

Gul finished with two for 31 as Mohammad Hafeez, Cheema, Ajmal and Shahid Afridi took a wicket apiece.

Pakistan then made as bad a start as England's had been good. They were reeling at 32 for four as Hafeez (0), Awaiz Zia (6), Asad Shafiq (1) and Umar Akmal (19) fell, Steven Finn, Broad and Jade Dernbach getting among the wickets.

Shoaib Malik (12) and Misbah-ul-Haq (13) then took the score to 50 but with serious acceleration needed, it didn't come until Afridi (25) and Hammad Azam came together.

Azam hit 21 in 15 balls before he was well caught by Buttler off Bopara and Gul played his hand with ten in four balls before being caught and bowled by Dernbach.

Ajmal was then run out by Finn without facing which left Afridi alongside Cheema needing 39 to win in two overs. The game lasted just two more balls as Broad had Afridi caught by Morgan to hand England  a convincing win and set up a decider in Abu Dhabi on Monday (27th February).

© Cricket World 2012