Bangladesh Name Four New Players For ODI Series

Bangladesh have named four uncapped players in a 14-man one-day squad for the upcoming series against South Africa. The three-match one-day internationals series starts in Chittagong on Sunday. Bangladesh have recalled batsman Shahriar Nafees and left-arm pacer Syed Rasel and dropped wicketkeeper Mushfiqur Rahim. Aftab Ahmed will miss the series because of an injury sustained in the second test against South Africa. Aftab was hit on the cheek by a delivery from Jacques Kallis on Sunday and he has been rested after hospital treatment. Nafees and Rasel were out of the one-day squad that toured New Zealand in January. "We are relying on the uncapped middle order batsmen Nazim Uddin and Roqibul Hassan, and wicketkeeper Dhiman Ghosh and all-rounder Mosharraf Hossain," chief selector, Rafiqul Alam told a news conference on Tuesday. Mushfiqur Rahim has been dropped for his poor performance in the test series, which South Africa swept 2-0. He scored 28 runs from four innings in the series and in the last five one-dayers, he could make only four runs and a duck. "He has been performing miserably and is out of form," Alam said. Bangladesh: Mohammad Ashraful (captain), Tamim Iqbal, Zunaed Siddique, Nazim Uddin, Shahriar Nafees, Shakib Al Hasan, Dhiman Ghosh, Mashrafe Mortaza, Abdur Razzak, Shahadat Hossain, Mosharraf Hossain, Syed Rasel, Farhad Reza, Roqibul Hassan © Reuters 2008