Tuesday 18 October 2011 

Bangladesh Overhaul Test Squad

Bangladesh Overhaul Test Squad
Bangladesh Overhaul Test Squad
© Action Images / Jason Cairnduff

Bangladesh have named a 14-man squad for the two-Test series against the West Indies which begins in Chittagong on 21st October.

Former captain Mohammad Ashraful, quick bowler Shafiul Islam and left-arm spinner Abdur Razzak have been left out of the squad which sees batsman Roqibul Hasan and all-rounder Naeem Islam recalled.

Mushfiqur Rahim will lead the side for the first time in a Test on the back of a 1-0 Twenty20 International series win and a 2-1 defeat in the One-Day Internationals.

Shahadat Hossain has been preferred to Shafiul while the squad includes four uncapped players - Nasir Hossain, Suhrawadi Shuvo, Shuvagata Horn and Elias Sunny.

The second Test begins in Dhaka on 29th October.

Bangladesh Test squad: Mushfiqur Rahim (captain), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Shakib Al Hasan, Roqibul Hasan, Naeem Islam, Nasir Hossain, Shahriar Nafees, Rubel Hossain, Nazmul Hossain, Shahadat Hossain, Suhrawadi Shuvo, Shuvagata Horn, Elias Sunny

© Cricket World 2011

More from Cricket World

Hashim Amla (left) and AB de Villiers batted for all but 15.5 overs of the opening day

Amla, De Villiers Dominate

17 December 2014