Bardford And Bingley Go Top Of Bradford League

Bradford And Bingley Go Top Of Bradford League
Bradford And Bingley Go Top Of Bradford League

Bradford & Bingley took over at the top of the JCT 600 Bradford League First Division after beating Gomersal at home in a high scoring game, reduced to 42 overs because of rain. It was their third win in a row.

Skipper Phil Slater was top scorer with 103 not out, including three sixes and 12 fours, as Bingley posted the day's top score - 304 for four in 41 overs. Chris Thompson struck five sixes and five fours in an aggressive innings of 63 not out as he shared in an unbroken fifth wicket stand of 131 with Slater. Opener Simon Davies followed up his unbeaten century the week before by scoring 59.

Gomersal made a brave effort in reply before falling 39 runs short after being bowled out for 265 with Shabbir Rashid (84) and Ben Platt (53) their top scorers. David Clow (3-48) and James Davies (3-52) each took three wickets for Bingley.
Bingley are two points ahead of Hanging Heaton, who beat Pudsey St Lawrence by 37 runs after the visitors suffered a dramatic collapse, losing their last nine wickets for only 35 runs. It was their first defeat of the season.

St Lawrence appeared to be on course for victory at 112 for one chasing Hanging Heaton's all out total of 184, but they collapsed to 147 with spinners Umar Rehman (6-18) and Mark Lawson (3-39) doing the damage.
Hanging Heaton's top scorers were James Stansfield (38) and Mark Lawson (32) as pacemen Gareth Clough (3-22) and David Stiff (3-49) each took three wickets for St Lawrence. Openers Mark Robertshaw (40) and Adam Waite (38) set St Lawrence on the path to victory until they collapsed.

Another side, who lost their unbeaten record was Farsley, who went down by 38 runs at Woodlands. Farsley appeared to have done the hard work when they bowled out Woodlands for 139 with Jamaican all-rounder Lorenzo Inghram taking four for 21 as Simon Mason made 37, his highest score since he joined his new team from York. However, Woodlands skipper Pieter Swanepoel then struck a crucial blow, becoming the first bowler to dismiss Inghram and went on to produce match winning figures of five for 24. Inghram had made 368 in his previous three innings without being out. Swanepoel was well supported by slow left arm bowler Chris Brice, who took three for 54 as Farsley were bowled out for a mere 101.

Defending champions Pudsey Congs returned to winning form after two successive defeats by beating Manningham Mills by 26 runs. Opener Josh Atkinson (62) and Andrew Bairstow (59) were top scorers as Congs totalled 216 for six. Mills made a good start and at 128 for two they were favourites to win, but pace bowler Muhammad Naved with four for 52 and left arm spinner Glenn Roberts four for 38 then took control as Mills slid to 190 all out. Gulsheraz Ahmed, who hit two sixes and 11 fours in his 68 and overseas player Imran Khalid, who made 64, put Mills on course for victory, but once they were parted the innings disintegrated.

East Bierley also ended their two match losing run by beating Baildon by six wickets. Tabbi Bhatti with 76 not out Harry Smallwood 42 not out were Baildon's top scorers as they totalled 186 for five, but it wasn't enough to win as opener Gharib Razak with 64 not out and Thomas Owens 56 not out led Bierley to victory.

Cleckheaton moved off the bottom of the table as they beat Undercliffe by seven wickets - a result that leaves Undercliffe in bottom place. Undercliffe made 191 for five with former Yorkshire batsman Ashley Metcalfe top scorer with 52 while Matthew Bottomley 39, Nawaz Sardar 38 and skipper Ben Heritage 34 gave good support. Tim Jackson, a close season signing from Saltaire, led Cleckheaton's successful victory bid with 73 not out, sharing a fourth wicket stand of 103 with Ian Nicholson 43 not out.

© Cricket World 2011

Nominate a Performance of the Week
Become a Profiled Club
Find a Fixture