Bell, Edwards Win England Awards

Ian Bell was named England's Cricketer Of The Year
Ian Bell was named England's Cricketer Of The Year
©REUTERS / Action Images

Ian Bell and Charlotte Edwards were named as England's Cricketers Of The Year at a ceremony held at Lord's last night (9th June).

There were also awards for Will Rhodes (Development Programme Cricketer Of The Year) and Stephen George (Disability Cricketer Of The Year).

Bell claimed the award ahead of Stuart Broad and Joe Root for his part in helping England win the Ashes 3-0 in 2013, a series in which he scored three centuries and two half-centuries.

While Bell and his colleagues then travelled to Australia and were thumped 5-0 in the winter series, Edwards captained England Women to success in both Ashes series, home and away. She then helped England reach the final of the ICC Women's Twenty20 in Bangladesh.

Yorkshire's Rhodes led England to third place in the ICC Under-19 World Cup and made his first-class debut in the qualifying period, beating Ben Duckett, Matt Fisher and Rob Sayer to win the award.

And George took the award after playing a starring role in the England Deaf team's 6-0 win over South Africa late last year.

"These awards are always fiercely contested and represent a huge accolade for the individuals concerned," England & Wales Cricket Board (ECB) Chief Executive David Collier said.

"Our congratulations go to all our award winners for their outstanding efforts on behalf of England teams over the past 12 months.

"We also thank our team sponsor Waitrose, and the MCC, for their help in staging this event in one of cricket’s most iconic locations – the Long Room at Lord’s."

© Cricket World 2014