Brits Returns For West Indies Tour

Brits Returns For West Indies Tour
Brits Returns For West Indies Tour
©Action Images / Paul Harding

West Indies Women and South Africa Women have both named their squads for the five-match One-Day International series between the two sides, which begins in St Kitts on 7th January.

West Indies will again be led by Merissa Aguilleira and include ICC Women’s ODI Player of the Year, Stafanie Taylor, as their vice-captain. They have discarded batter Britney Cooper and all-rounder Stacy-Ann King from the squad that reached the semi-finals of the ICC World Twenty20, with wicket-keeper June Ogle-Thomas included after playing her only ODI to date in 2011.

“We have a good team and we are really focused on the upcoming series against South Africa. We have done very well against them in recent years and as a team we strongly believe we can beat them in this series as well," Aguilleira said. "We always enjoy playing at home and we are especially comfortable in St Kitts, where we will start the series. Warner Park has been a good hunting ground for us, so that's the perfect place to get going. We look forward to a good series as we prepare for the World Cup in India."

South Africa welcome back stalwart Cri-zelda Brits to their squad. The 29 year-old returns with the World Cup just around the corner after taking an indefinite break from cricket to concentrate on her off-field career. They have also included the uncapped pair of Savanna Cordes and Elrisa Theunissen

Hilton Moreeng, the South Africa coach, said: "It's a pleasure to see the return of an experienced player like Cri-zelda, I'm certain she'll have a positive influence on the side. I'm confident about the team we've chosen, it's a really good mixture of youth and experience and I'm happy with the depth in the side. 

"We're excited about going to the West Indies and to face some tough competition. This is the best preparation for the World Cup that we could ask for and we look forward to our arrival and getting our campaign started."

West Indies squad: Merissa Aguilleira (captain), Stefanie Taylor (vice-captain), Shemaine Campbelle, Shanel Daley, Deandra Dottin, Kycia Knight, Anisa Mohammed, Subrina Munroe, Juliana Nero, June Ogle-Thomas, Shakera Selman, Tremayne Smartt, Shaquana Quintyne.

South Africa squad: Mignon du Preez, Susan Benade, Cri-zelda Brits, Trisha Chetty, Savanna Cordes, Dinesha Devnarain, Shandré Fritz, Marizanne Kapp, Dané van Niekerk, Marcia Letsoalo, Sunette Loubser, Yolandi Potgieter, Chloe Tryon, Elrisa Theunissen.

© Cricket World 2012


Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.