Bromley Win Cockspur Cup

Bromley overcame their final disappointment in 2006 by taking the Cockspur Cup honours at Lord's with a thrilling four-run win over Kibworth. Former Sussex and England batsman Alan Wells helped Bromley to victory. Wells made a splendid 64, top score on the day, while 47 from James Watson in a half-century partnership helped the Kent side recover from an indifferent start in the September sunshine to post a respectable, but not unbeatable 179 inside 45 overs. Former Hampshire paceman Simon Renshaw did the damage for the Leicestershire side, winners themselves in 2004, delighting their six coachloads of fans as he removed last danger Watson for 47, and helped mop up the tail with his 3-21. But Kibworth found the chase harder than the score on the board would have suggested, and were never quite able to get their noses in front of the asking rate. John Hanger gave them hope with 40, supported by Josh Cobb (22) and former Leicestershire and Essex all-rounder Tim Mason (30). But with Bromley's bowlers able to remove any threat before they went on to make a match-winning score, the spoils were ultimately theirs as the game went to the death. Come the final ball, Chris Hill was caught on the boundary going for a big hit for six over square leg needed to win the match for Kibworth; and Bromley skipper James Butterfill was able to pick up the silverware and wipe the memory of last year's defeat by South Northumberland away. Some consolation for Kibworth is that they, like Bromley walk away from Lord's with free tickets to Barbados - as for the first time both finalists have been invited to play alongside the likes of Mark Ramprakash, Phil Tufnell and Darren Gough in the 30th Fred Rumsey Pro-Am Festival, also sponsored by Cockspur Rum, this winter.