Champions League T20 Fixtures Announced

MS Dhoni will lead the Chennai Super Kings' challenge in the 2013 CLT20.
©REUTERS/Philip Brown. Picture Supplied by Action Images.

The fixtures for the 2013 Champions League T20 have been announced. The tournament will be held at five venues around India - Hyderabad, Jaipur and Ranchi, Ahmedabad, and Delhi - and begins with the qualifying tournament on 17th September. The main event then begins on 21st September when Rajasthan Royals play reigning IPL champions Mumbai Indians, with the semi-finals and final scheduled for the 4th, 5th and 6th October.

The qualifying tournament consists of four teams, with Pakistan’s Faisalabad Wolves joining HRV Cup winners Otago Volts, IPL fourth-placers Sunrisers Hyderabad, and the winner of next month’s Sri Lanka inter-provincial T20 competition.

The top two ranked teams will then progress to the tournament proper, with one side joining Mumbai Indians, Rajasthan Royals, Perth Scorchers and South Africa’s Highveld Lions in Group A. The other team will join IPL runners-up Chennai Super Kings, Brisbane Heat, Titans and Trinidad & Tobago in Group B.

Australia’s Sydney Sixers won last year’s event but failed to qualify this time around, while 2010 and 2011 champions Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians both made the cut.

England have no representatives in this year's event after deciding that it interfered too much with the end of the county cricket season.

© Cricket World 2013


4th #WIvInd Test review from Trinidad

An Evening With Aggers & Tuffers - a teaser