Chennai Super Kings Win 2010 Champions League T20

Chennai Super Kings Win 2010 Champions League T20
Chennai Super Kings Win 2010 Champions League T20
©REUTERS/Siphiwe Sibeko (SOUTH AFRICA - Tags: SPORT CRICKET) Picture Supplied by Action Images

Chennai Super Kings 132-2 (Vijay 58, Hussey 51no) beat
Warriors 128-7 (Jacobs 34, Muralitharan 3-16) by eight wickets
Champions League final, Johannesburg

The Chennai Super Kings added the 2010 Champions League Twenty20 title to their Indian Premier League crown after a comprehensive eight-wicket victory over the Warriors in Johannesburg.

The two sides had met in the group stages and the final saw the same result, albeit with the Super Kings batting second and making reasonably light work of a victory target of 129, set after the Warriors reached 128 for seven from their 20 overs.

Opener Davey Jacobs top scored with 34 to give his side a strong start but they faded as Chennai's spinners took control. Muttiah Muralitharan returned three for 16 and Ravi Ashwin two for 16 and it took a late blast of 25 in 18 balls from Craig Thyssen to steer them towards a competitive score.

However, it did not prove to be enough to keep the Super Kings from winning as half-centuries from openers Michael Hussey (51 not out) and Murali Vijay (58) helped them over the line with an over to spare.

Hussey anchored the innings, facing 43 balls while Vijay hit six fours and two sixes in his 53-ball knock.

Although Suresh Raina made just two, the Super Kings were not to be denied and captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni helped finish off the Warriors with an unbeaten 17 in 12 balls.

New South Wales won the inaugural competition, held in India, in 2009.

© Cricket World 2010