Club Cricket Round-Up - Midlands Region

Club Cricket Round-Up - Midlands Region
Club Cricket Round-Up - Midlands Region
©Action Images

With the club cricket season now completed, we round up all the top performances from the Midlands region in the past six weeks and pick each league’s Cricket World Player of the Year based on our Most Valuable Player Overall Ratings.

Barnt Green end 2011 with the Birmingham & District Premier Cricket League title, ending with 11 wins from their 22 matches and 365 points. Wellington and Himley lead the chasing pack with 300 and 296 points respectively and lie in second and third, with Shrewsbury in fourth. Moseley and Smethwick are both relegated, with the latter having a particularly dismal season in winning just one game.

The league’s leading run-scorer for the season is Leamington’s Alex Phillips who finished with 922 runs at an average of 46.1, a haul which included an innings of 131 in the final match against Wolverhampton. Champions Barnt Green were helped hugely by second-placed Richard Wilkinson’s 888 runs at an average of 52, while West Bromwich Dartmouth’s Jeet Raval is third with 866. Other star performers from the past six weeks include Bilal Shafayat who hit 140 against Leamington; twin centurion Abdul Hafeez (Moseley); and Moeen Ali who made centuries against Smethwick and Moseley for Wolverhampton.

Johannes Bothma ends the year as the league’s leading wicket-taker – his 46 wickets including a haul of five for 60 against Kidderminster Victoria – while Walsall’s Paul Byrne is second with 40 scalps. Barnt Green’s most successful bowler was Stephen Bevan who ended with 38 wickets at 21.58. He is joined on 38 by Daniel Smith (Himley) and Bilal Shafayat. Kidderminster Victoria’s Gareth Williams enjoyed a good end to the season and picked up five-fers against Wolverhampton and Moseley to place him eighth.

CW Player of the Year: Moeen Ali (Wolverhampton)
Worcestershire and Wolverhampton batsman Ali is the highest rated player in 10th position, with his nearest challenger – Barnt Green’s Dougie Brown – in 44th. He ends the season with an impressive haul of 543 league runs at 67.88 and 18 wickets at 25.22.

Ockbrook & Borrowash have ended the 2011 season with a four point lead over Sandiacre Town at the top of the Derbyshire Premier Cricket League. They have won 15 matches in comparison with Town’s 17 but take the title by virtue of accruing almost twice as many bonus points. Spondon and Ticknall lead the chasing pack in third and fourth positions but are over 100 points adrift. Alfreton and Ilkeston Rutland end the year in the relegation zone and will playing Division One cricket in 2012.

Ticknall’s Paul Borrington scored almost 1500 runs this season and ends the season as the league’s highest run-scorer. He has a 198 run lead over his nearest rival: Hassan Adnan (Alvaston & Boulton) who has 1265 at an average 79.06. Alvaston & Boulton captain Stephen Stubbings is third with 972. Matt Lineker has the highest individual score since the beginning of August thanks to his 137 on 17th September against Ticknall.

Despite not winning the league, Sandiacre Town boast the top two leading wicket-takers courtesy of John Jordison – who took 62 wickets at an astonishing average of 8.95 – and Ryan McFadyean – who ended with 50 at 14.36 – with Ockbrook & Borrowash captain Kevin Dean third with 46 wickets. Chesterfield’s Simon Lacey has the best bolwing figures from the past six weeks, with his seven for 58 against Quarndon bettering Jordison’s six for 29 against Lullington Park.

CW Player of the Year: Paul Borrington (Ticknall)
Borrington showed the importance of the ECB’s Premier League system this season as his 2011 haul of 1463 runs at an average of 91.44 helped him earn a new contract with Derbyshire and force his way into their first team at the end of the year. He lies 54th in the overall ratings.

Loughborough Town and Market Harborough both ended the season with 16 wins in the Leicestershire Premier Cricket League with Town taking the title by two points thanks to their slightly superior bonus points haul. Sileby Town lead the rest of the field with 367 points, while Barkby United and Barrow Town occupy the final two positions in the table.

Lutterworth’s Lewis Hill ends 2011 as the league’s highest run-scorer with his haul of 920 runs at an average of 61.33 featuring a season-best innings of 153 against Barrow Town on 6th August. County all-rounder Robert Taylor (Market Harborough) is second with 890 runs, while Anish Patel (Loughborough Town) and Oliver Pickering (Lutterworth) are the only other batsmen to pass 800 runs. Stephen Punchard, who scored a century against Barkby United on 13th August, is sixth with 732 runs.

It is also a Lutterworth player that leads the wicket-taking chart. Karl Smith has taken 46 wickets at an average of 17.52 in 2011, while Kibworth’s Tom Driver is second with 38. Mark Ashcroft (Kegworth Town) and Stephanus Grobler (Thorpe Arnold) are tied in third place on 36 wickets apiece. Lutterworth’s Craig Wilson has the league’s best figures since the beginning of August, with his five for 14 against Kibworth just outflanking Raja Hayat’s five for 17 for Syston Town against Sileby Town.

CW Player of the Year: Robert Taylor (Market Harborough)
Taylor showcased his credentials for his club prior to earning a trial with Leicestershire towards the end of the county season, once again underlining the importance of the ECB’s Premier Leagues. He scored 890 runs and took  24 wickets in 2011.

© Cricket World 2011


Nominate a Performance of the Week
Become a Profiled Club
Find a Fixture