Club Cricket Round-Up - South East Region

Club Cricket Round-Up - South East Region
Club Cricket Round-Up - South East Region
©Action Images

With the club cricket season now completed, we round up all the top performances from the South East region in the past six weeks and pick each league’s Cricket World Player of the Year based on our Most Valuable Player Overall Ratings.

Cambridge Granta ended 2011 with a 46-point lead at the top of the East Anglian Premier Cricket League after winning 13 games out of 22 this season. Their nearest rivals, Great Witchingham, could manage only 10 wins, with Swardeston third on 11 wins and six losses. Norwich’s miserable year continued and they finished the year in last place – a full 19 points behind 11th placed Saffron Walden.

Carl Rogers (Great Witchingham) has a comprehensive 169-run lead at the top of the run scoring charts thanks to his mammoth haul of 1028 runs at an average of 60.47. Sam Arthurton (Great Witchingham) and Glenn Goosen (Burwell) are second and third with 859 and 853 runs apiece.

George Walker (Swardeston) and Jason Coleman (Cambridge Granta) both end the season with 55 wickets at miserly averages of 13 and 12.4 respectively, with Coleman’s tally including a haul of five for 36 against Sudbury on 10th September. Ryan McCone (Great Witchingham) is third with 54 wickets at 16.57.

CW Player of the Year: Stefanus Gericke (Clacton-on-Sea)
Gericke ended the year with 662 runs at an average of 44.13 and 52 wickets at 16.15 to place him 26th in the overall ratings. Kandage Fernando (Sudbury is two places behind him in 28th.

Brentwood are the Essex Premier League champions for 2011 with 279 points from 18 matches compared to Wanstead’s 251. South Woodford are best of the rest with 223 points.Hainault & Clayhall and Lougton occupy the final two positions in the table with just eight wins between them.

Hainault & Clayhall can however boast the league’s run-scorer, as Imran Qadir’s 880 runs at an average of 73.33 places him just ahead of Ardleigh Green’s Royston Smith, who has 831. Nick Browne of South Woodford is third with 754.

Bilal Butt of last placed Loughton is 2011’s leading wicket-taker after he ended with 41 wickets at 21.2 apiece. Joe Buttleman is second with 38, while Theeban Tavarasa is third with 37. Butt’s best bowling of the year came at the end of July against Wanstead when he took six for 86 to follow his first innings unbeaten 132.

CW Player of the Year: Nick Browne (South Woodford)
Browne ends 2011 with 754 runs at an average of 53.86 and 31 wickets at 21.13 to place him third and sixth in the league’s batting and bowling tables and 81st in the overall ratings.

High Wycombe won 11 games and lost only two in 2011 so end the season as Home Counties Premier Cricket League champions with 327 points compared to second-placed Tring Park’s 297. Harpenden lead the chasing pack with 250, while Henley have 249. Radlett and Falkland are easily the bottom two sides, having won only three and lost 16 matches between them.

James Hewitt (Welwyn Garden City) is the league’s leading run-scorer with 806 at an average of 62, while Nitin Sehgal (High Wycombe) is second with 777 runs at 55.5. Former Leicestershire and Surrey batsman James Benning is third with 763 runs at an average of 84.78.

Banbury bowler Luke Ryan is the leading wicket-taker in the league for 2011 with 41 scalps at 11.85 apiece. Harpenden’s Ben Frazer is second on 40 with Henley’s Bjorn Mordt third on 39. Former Somerset offie Keith Dutch is fourth with 37 wickets at 21.14.

CW Player of the Year: James Benning (High Wycombe)
Besides Benning’s impressive batting average, he has also chipped in with 22 wickets at an average of 17.68 to place him 37th in the overall ratings.

Hartley Country Club are the champions of the Kent Cricket League having won 10 of their 18 games and losing just one to give them 247 points. Bromley are second with 225 points, with Lordswood third on 221. The Mote and Sibton Park occupy the final two positions in the table with only six wins between them.

The Mote’s Thomas Harvey is the league’s leading run-scorer in 2011, having scored 856 runs and passed 50 on eight separate occasions for his club. John Bowden (Sevenoaks Vine) and Greg Bain (Bexley) complete the top three with 800 and 713 runs respectively. Bain scored an unbeaten 104 on the final day of the season to help Bexley to a seven-wicket win over Bickley Park.

Steven Rowe took exceptional figures of seven for 27 for Sibton Park against Blackheath in May and is the league’s leading wicket-taker with 31 wickets at an average of 19.42 apiece. Former Essex seamer Jahid Ahmed is second with 30 wickets for Blackheath, while Andy Allon is third after taking 29 for Sibton Park.

CW Player of the Year: Thomas Harvey (The Mote)
As well as scoring 856 runs for The Mote, Harvey also has 28 wickets to his name at the impressive average of 23.71 making The Mote’s poor position in the table difficult to explain.

© Cricket World 2011