Collins, Tudor Leave Surrey, Eight Others Sign Contracts

Collins, Tudor Leave Surrey, Eight Others Sign Contracts
Collins, Tudor Leave Surrey, Eight Others Sign Contracts
©Action Images / Michael Regan

Surrey continue the rebuilding process ahead of the 2010 season and they have announced that eight players have signed new contracts and that fast bowlers Pedro Collins and Alex Tudor have been released.

Michael Brown, Stewart Walters, Matthew Spriegel, Arun Harinath, Stuart Meaker, Simon King and Gary Wilson have been awarded contracts which take their time at the club up until the end of the 2011 season while Tim Linley has been given a one-year deal.

“When I first joined Surrey I knew it would not be possible to provide immediate solutions to the Club’s problems," Professional Cricket Manager Chris Adams told the club's website (

"With this in mind, we have developed a long term structure to return to the position of the leading side in the English game.

“One of the key factors I have identified to help us do that is continuity. No sports team has ever benefitted from a constantly high turnover of players and I am very happy the vast majority of our squad are now able to plan for two or more solid years at Surrey.

“All the players that have recently agreed new deals have yet to reach their potential for this Club and I look forward to exciting times ahead when they are all consistently performing at the height of their ability.”

Pedro Collins played 32 Tests for the West Indies and has played the last two seasons at Surrey as a Kolpak cricketer while Tudor recently returned to the club following a short spell at Essex.

“Both Alex and Pedro are fine players in their own right but the time had come for them to take on a new challenge. I wish them both the best of luck with their future plans and thank them for their contribution to Surrey County Cricket Club," Adams said.

© Cricket World 2009

Official Surrey CCC Website