Cook Half-Century Sets New Zealand 170 To Win

Cook Half-Century Sets New Zealand 170 To Win
Cook Half-Century Sets New Zealand 170 To Win
©REUTERS / Action Images

England 169 (Cook 64) v New Zealand
ICC Champions Trophy Group B, Cardiff
Report by John Pennington

Alastair Cook hit 64 in 47 balls before England were bowled out for 169 in a delayed, rain-reduced ICC Champions Trophy Group B match at Cardiff.

With just 24 overs to set New Zealand a target, England made a slow start before Cook's effort put them in the driving seat only to lose seven wickets in the last six overs to leave the match in the balance.

After a lengthy delay, most of the batsmen struggled for timing initially, leading to Ian Bell (10) and Jonathan Trott (8) falling as they tried to up the ante, the former brilliantly caught at short cover by Brendon McCullum off Mitchell McClenaghan.

Once Cook and Joe Root (38) had taken some time to get themselves in, they started to accelerate during a half-century partnership for the third wicket.

The first six of the innings came in the 10th over when Root rocked back and deposited Daniel Vettori over midwicket, by which time Cook had been given one of three lives by Nathan McCullum.

He took full advantage, hitting James Franklin and Kane Williamson for straight sixes as well as four fours before offering McCullum a fourth chance, which was taken off his own bowling.

Root survived a reviewed leg before decision which revealed an inside edge off Vettori and a typically busy innings was ended when he top edged McClenaghan to be caught by wicket-keeper Luke Ronchi shortly after England had reached three figures.

The platform had therefore been set for the power hitters to come in and take advantage but they were unable to do so as New Zealand fought back.

Eoin Morgan (15) lifted McCullum over his head for six but fell leg before to Vettori, Jos Buttler (14) flickered briefly with a couple of boundaries and Ravi Bopara (9) became another victim of a top edge.

Franklin had earlier dropped Bell but partially redeemed himself by recovering from a fumble to run out Tim Bresnan for four and the end of the innings was wrapped up when Mills removed Stuart Broad and James Tredwell for ducks in consecutive deliveries.

McClenaghan finished with three for 36 to move back to the top of the tournament's wicket-takers list, Mills ended with four for 30 but Vettori was perhaps the most effective, with one for 27 from his five overs, never letting England get on top of him.

Nathan McCullum was able to put his three misses behind him to take four catches as the ball followed him round the park.

The winner of this game qualifies for the semi-finals, and England defeat would see them eliminated while New Zealand can still qualify should they lose depending on the outcome of the Australia-Sri Lanka match which concludes the group stages.

© Cricket World 2013


CT 2013 Fixtures

Fixtures & Results

6th June: India v South Africa, Cardiff
IND 331-7 beat RSA 305 by 26 runs: Report
7th June: Pakistan v West Indies, London
WIN 172-8 beat PAK 170 by 2 wickets: Report
8th June: England v Australia, Birmingham
ENG 269-6 beat AUS 221-9 by 48 runs: Report
9th June: New Zealand v Sri Lanka, Cardiff
NZL 139-9 beat SRI 138 by 1 wicket: Report
10th June: Pakistan v South Africa, Birmingham
RSA 234-9 beat PAK 167 by 67 runs: Report
11th June: India v West Indies, London
IND 236-2 beat WIN 233-9 by 8 wickets: Report
12th June: Australia v New Zealand, Birmingham
AUS 243-8 v NZL 51-2 - match abandoned: Report
13th June: England v Sri Lanka, The Oval
SRI 297-3 beat ENG 293-7 by 7 wickets: Report
15th June: India v Pakistan, Birmingham
IND 102-2 beat PAK 165 by 8 wickets: Report
16th June: England v New Zealand, Cardiff
ENG 169 beat NZL 159-8 by 10 runs: Report
17th June: Australia v Sri Lanka, London
SRI 253-8 beat AUS 233 by 20 runs: Report
19th June: Semi-Final, London
ENG 179-3 beat RSA 175 by 7 wickets: Report
20th June: Semi-Final, Cardiff
IND 182-2 beat SRI 181-8 by 8 wickets: Report
23rd June: Final, Birmingham
IND 129-7 beat ENG 124-8 by 5 runs: Report

Champions Trophy History

Previous Winners

1998: South Africa
2000: New Zealand
2002: India/Sri Lanka
2004: West Indies
2006: Australia
2009: Australia