County Cricket Round-Up - 19th June 2013

General cricket image
County Cricket Round-Up - 19th June 2013

There were wins for Nottinghamshire and Glamorgan in tonight’s Yorkshire Bank 40 action. We also preview the first of the eleventh round LV= County Championship matches.

Nottinghamshire just about kept their unbeaten record in Group A of the Yorkshire Bank 40 alive with a hard-fought win over the Netherlands in Truro. The Dutch looked like they were in for a heavy defeat after losing both openers early on their way to posting 188 for seven. However, debutant Quirijn Gunning removed Alex Hales in his opening over as their bowling attack battled hard. It was the Netherlands spinners, Tom Cooper (two for 30) and Pieter Seelaar (none for 29) who strangled the Notts middle-order after Michael Lumb (35 off 38 balls) and James Taylor had shared 83 for the second-wicket. It was left to Taylor to anchor the run chase following Lumb’s departure. He ended on 90 not out off 119 balls as the Outlaws won with seven balls and four wickets to spare. Mullaney contributed a late 26 off 16 deliveries.

Leicestershire were dealt a blow to their hopes of progressing from Group C as Glamorgan leapfrogged them into third place courtesy of a 34-run win at Grace Road. Mark Wallace and Chris Cooke both hit half-centuries, with four-day captain Wallace making 61 off 54 balls and adding 86 in little more than 13 overs with opening partner Will Bragg (33 off 40 balls). There was then a cameo of 41 off 27 balls from Murray Goodwin as the Dragons ended on 265 for eight. The Foxes then got off to a good start of their own, with Josh Cobb (35 off 32) and Niall O’Brien (22 off 21) adding 60 in less than nine overs. However, only Joe Burns scored appreciably thereafter with 71 as they were all out for 231. Michael Hogan finished with three for 38, while there was brace of wickets for Jim Allenby. 

Tomorrow’s Fixtures: (start times in brackets, BST)
day one, LV=CCD2, Lancashire v Northamptonshire at Old Trafford (1100)
The top two sides in Division Two do battle, with Lancashire hoping to gain ground on runaway leaders Northamptonshire. They are captained by Glen Chapple, with Andrea Agathangelou, Luis Reece and Tom Smith all named in a 13-man squad. There is again no room for either Karl Brown or Stephen Moore.

Lancashire squad: Luis Reece, Luke Procter, Ashwell Prince, Simon Katich, Andrea Agathangelou, Steven Croft, Gareth Cross, Wayne White, Kyle Hogg, Glen Chapple (captain), Simon Kerrigan, Tom Smith, Stephen Parry.

Northamptonshire are unchanged, with Mohammad Azharullah and loan-signing Graeme White added to the eleven that drew with Leicestershire.

Northamptonshire squad: Kyle Coetzer, Matthew Spriegel, David Sales, Alex Wakely (captain), Rob Keogh, Andrew Hall, James Middlebrook, David Willey, Steven Crook, David Murphy, Lee Daggett, Mohammad Azharullah, Graeme White.

day one, LV=CCD2, Worcestershire v Glamorgan at New Road (1100)
Worcestershire have named 19 year-old Oxford University batsman Tom Fell in their 12-man squad following his one-day debut against the Netherlands on Sunday. Gareth Andrew is still out injured, while Ben Cox is preferred to Michael Johnson behind the stumps. All-rounder Joe Leach and spin bowler Shaaiq Choudhry are also included.

Worcestershire squad: Daryl Mitchell (captain), Matthew Pardoe, Moeen Ali, Thilan Samaraweera, Alexei Kervezee, Tom Fell, Ben Cox, Joe Leach, Jack Shantry, Chris Russell, Alan Richardson, Shaaiq Choudhry.

Glamorgan are unchanged, with young fast-bowler Mike Reed named in a 12-man squad and vying for a starting berth with Will Owen.

Glamorgan squad: Will Bragg, Ben Wright, Stewart Walters, Marcus North, Murray Goodwin, Jim Allenby, Mark Wallace (captain), Graham Wagg, Dean Cosker, Michael Hogan, Mike Reed, Will Owen.

Group B, YB40, Derbyshire v Scotland at Derby (1640)
Derbyshire are unchanged despite losing last night to Hampshire. They will fly the club flag at half mast during the match in memory of local cricket enthusiast David Smyth, who passed away last week and was friends with a number of the players.

Derbyshire squad: Chesney Hughes, Wes Durston, Paul Borrington, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Wayne Madsen (captain), Dan Redfern, Richard Johnson, Jonathan Clare, Peter Burgoyne, Mark Turner, Mark Footitt, Tim Groenewald, David Wainwright.

Group C, YB40, Yorkshire v Middlesex at Headingley (1345)
Fifteen year-old Matthew Fisher returns to a youthful Yorkshire squad, with Dan Hodgson again among the 13-man part following his half-century against Gloucestershire at the weekend.

Yorkshire squad: Adam Lyth, Richard Pyrah, Dan Hodgson, Andrew Gale (captain), Gary Ballance, Adil Rashid, Andrew Hodd, Ryan Gibson, Matthew Fisher, Iain Wardlaw, Ben Coad, Steven Patterson, Joe Sayers.

Middlesex are without Chris Rogers, who has joined Australia’s Ashes squad, and the injured James Harris. Sam Robson could replace the former with either Tom Helm of Josh Davey replacing the latter.

Middlesex squad: Joe Denly, Paul Stirling, Josh Davey, Neil Dexter (captain), Adam Rossington, Dawid Malan, Gareth Berg, Ollie Rayner, Tim Murtagh, Toby Roland-Jones, Tom Smith, Sam Robson, Tom Helm.

Weather Forecast: The rain returns and the temperatures cool tomorrow after today’s humidity. Most of the country is likely to see some rain at some point during the day, while temperatures will peak at no higher than 20 degrees Celsius.

County Cricket News In Brief:
Former Australia batsman Simon Katich, now with Lancashire, has been awarded his county cap by the club.

Injured Gloucestershire fast-bowler Ian Saxelby has admitted that he is “fighting for his career”. The 24 year-old will miss the rest of the season to undergo an operation to repair his right biceps. It is his fourth operation on his shoulder/upper arm since 2010.

© Cricket World 2013