County Cricket Round-Up - 21st May

County Cricket Round-Up - 21st May
County Cricket Round-Up - 21st May
©Action Images / Andrew Boyers

day two, LV=CCD2, Leicestershire v Glamorgan at Grace Road
day one, LV=CCD2, Worcestershire v Gloucestershire at New Road

Gloucestershire will give a Championship debut to Gareth Roderick as Cameron Herring is still not fully recovered from an illness that forced him to miss the match against Cambridge MCCU. Alex Gidman is also an injury concern with a shoulder injury, with Ian Cockbain included as cover in the 13-man squad. His brother Will is still absent owing to an ankle injury, while Ian Saxelby has not been deemed ready for a return to four-day action following his shoulder injury.

Gloucestershire squad: Michael Klinger (captain), Chris Dent, Dan Housego, Alex Gidman, Hamish Marshall, Benny Howell, Gareth Roderick, Jack Taylor, James Fuller, Craig Miles, Liam Norwell, Ed Young, Ian Cockbain.

Group B, YB40, Hampshire v Lancashire at Southampton (1540 GMT, 1640 BST start)
The Royals have added Zimbabwe-born seamer Glenn Querl to the eleven that beat Durham on Sunday.

Hampshire squad: Jimmy Adams (captain), Michael Carberry, James Vince, George Bailey, Liam Dawson, Sean Ervine, Adam Wheater, Dimitri Mascarenhas, Chris Wood, Danny Briggs, David Griffiths, Glenn Querl.

Paul Horton has been ruled out for six weeks after dislocating a finger before Sunday’s game against Surrey, with Glen Chapple returning to resume captaincy duties. Simon Katich is also back in contention after missing Sunday’s match with a back spasm.

Lancashire squad: Glen Chapple (captain), Stephen Moore, Ashwell Prince, Karl Brown, Steven Croft, Simon Katich, Wayne White, Gareth Cross, Kyle Hogg, Stephen Parry, Simon Kerrigan, Luke Procter, Jordan Clark, Oliver Newby, Andrea Agathengelou.

day one, MCCU match, Oxford MCCU v Surrey at The Parks (non first-class)
Surrey have, as expected, chosen to rest most of their first-choice side for their trip to The Parks, although England pace-bowlers Stuart Meaker and Chris Tremlett are included. Among the youngsters on show are fast-bowlers Matthew Dunn and George Edwards and batsman Dom Sibley.

Surrey squad: Jason Roy (captain), Rory Burns, Arun Harinath, Dom Sibley, Tom Jewell, Michael Burgess, Stuart Meaker, Jon Lewis, Jack Winslade, Chris Tremlett, Matthew Dunn, George Edwards.

Weather Forecast: Tomorrow it will be mostly dry, with only the far east likely to catch a light shower. It will be mostly overcast with occasional sunny spells - the best of them in the west - and highs of between 13 and 17 degrees Celsius.

County Cricket News In Brief:
The ECB has unveiled its latest strategic plan called “Champion Counties” at Lord’s today. It covers the period 2014-17 and besides setting performance targets for England, has a stated aim of increasing county cricket attendances by 200,000 by the end of the four years. Also announced is a new £144 million package for counties for things such as floodlights and replay screens, and the launch of a youth Twenty20 tournament involving up to 500 teams.

Kent have extended their sponsorship deal with Shepherd Neame Brewery. The St Lawrence ground will now be known as The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence for the next 10 years in a deal said to be worth a seven-figure sum. The club are already known as the Spitfires in one-day cricket after one of Shepherd Neame’s most famous ales.

The RAF has become an official partner of Worcestershire CCC. The move follows the club’s signing of fast-bowler Corporal Graeme Cessford over the winter. The RAF logo will appear on the collars of the Worcestershire players in all competitions.

© Cricket World 2013






Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.