County Cricket Round-Up - 24th August 2013

Twin centuries for Moeen Ali at Worcester look like being in a losing cause against Lancashire.
©Action Images / Steven Paston

Durham and Lancashire look well-placed going into the final day of their 15th round LV= County Championship matches tomorrow. Meanwhile, Kent were denied by the rain at Canterbury and Glamorgan completed victory over a hapless Leicestershire.

Surrey slipped closer to defeat on a shortened day against Durham at Chester-le-Street. Debutant Usman Arshad struck twice in their second innings after they had been asked to follow-on to help reduce them to 52 for three. Jamie Harrison had earlier ended with five for 31 as Surrey were able to muster just 108 in their first innings. Wicket-keeper Steven Davies ended unbeaten with a valiant 41.

In Division Two, Kent were frustrated by the weather in Canterbury, with no play possible at all on the final day against Gloucestershire. The visitors remained on 307 for nine, still needing an unlikely 92 more for victory.

Glamorgan wrapped up victory over last-placed Leicestershire by an innings and 37 runs at Swansea. Resuming on 134 for two, Leicestershire lost regular wickets and were all out for 268. Dean Cosker did the bulk of the damage, taking three wickets at the start of the day en route to figures of four for 88. Fellow spinner Andrew Salter took three for 66. Leicestershire’s last-wicket pair did at least show some fight. Josh Cobb (46 not out) and Alex Wyatt put on 50 before Graham Wagg (1-34) dismissed Wyatt for 28 to end proceedings.

Lancashire are nicely placed going into the final day against Worcestershire. They have reduced the home side to 166 for five in their second innings in spite of another century from Moeen Ali. Ali is unbeaten on 101, but the next highest score for the Pears was Thilan Samaraweera’s 17. Luke Procter and Tom Smith had earlier extended Lancashire’s first innings to 441 by sharing 136 for the seventh-wicket. Both men fell short of centuries as Alan Richardson and Graeme Cessford dismissed one each en route to four-wicket hauls.

Tomorrow’s Fixtures: (start times in brackets, BST)
day four, LV=CCD1, Durham v Surrey at Chester-le-Street
day four, LV=CCD2, Worcestershire v Lancashire at New Road
Group B, YB40, Essex v Derbyshire at Colchester (1345)
The home side have an outside chance of reaching the semi-finals if they win their final two games. They welcome back Owais Shah from a hamstring injury into their 12-man squad. Gautam Gambhir is set to make his debut in the competition.

Essex squad: Mark Pettini, Gautam Gambhir, Ravi Bopara, Owais Shah, Ryan ten Doeschate, Greg Smith, James Foster (captain), Graham Napier, Tim Phillips, David Masters, Reece Topley, Tymal Mills.

The Falcons are already out of contention for the last four and will take the opportunity to have a look at former Nottinghamshire and Unicorns batsman Scott Elstone. He has been named in their squad alongside Matt Higginbottom and Billy Godleman. Skipper Wayne Madsen has been rested.

Derbyshire squad: Chesney Hughes, Wes Durston, Paul Borrington, Scott Elstone, Richard Johnson, Alex Hughes, Ben Slater, Tony Palladino, Alasdair Evans, Tom Knight, Matt Higginbottom, David Wainwright, Billy Godleman.

Group C, YB40, Glamorgan v Leicestershire at Swansea (1300)
The home side are very much in the hunt for the semi-finals but need to win both of their matches to have a realistic chance of progressing. They have named an unchanged 13-man squad, but may be tempted to include off-spinner Andrew Salter in the playing eleven on this occasion.

Glamorgan squad: Gareth Rees, Mark Wallace, Chris Cooke, Marcus North (captain), Jim Allenby, Murray Goodwin, Ben Wright, Graham Wagg, Dean Cosker, Michael Hogan, Simon Jones, Andrew Salter, Alex Jones.

Weather Forecast: Showers remain a possibility tomorrow, especially for the south of the country. The south-east will be worst hit initially before they move west. However, there will be far fewer than was the case today, with plenty of sunny spells in between. Temperatures will peak at around 22 degrees Celsius.

© Cricket World 2013