Saturday 4 May 2013 

County Cricket Round-Up - 4th May

County Cricket Round-Up - 4th May
County Cricket Round-Up - 4th May
© Leicestershire CCC

Group B, YB40, Durham v Essex at Chester-le-Street
The home side come into the match off the back of their sensational win against Nottinghamshire and have the added motivation of the game being named as Stephen Harmison’s benefit match. Off-spinning all-rounder Ryan Pringle and top-order batsman Gordon Muchall have both been named in a 13-man squad as has impressive all-rounder Mark Wood.

Durham squad: Dale Benkenstein (captain), Phil Mustard, Mark Stoneman, Ben Stokes, Paul Collingwood, Gordon Muchall, Scott Borthwick, Gareth Breese, Mark Wood, Chris Rushworth, Graham Onions, Will Smith, Ryan Pringle.

Essex squad: TBA

Group B, YB40, Hampshire v Scotland at Southampton
The Royals have added David Balcombe to the eleven that thrashed Essex last night, with Michael Bates again included in a 13-man squad but expected to miss out. If he plays, Balcombe is most likely to replace James Tomlinson, who was a late replacement in yesterday’s side for the injured David Griffiths.

Hampshire squad: Jimmy Adams (captain), Michael Carberry, James Vince, George Bailey, Liam Dawson, Sean Ervine, Adam Wheater, Chris Wood, Hamza Riazuddin, Danny Briggs David Balcombe, James Tomlinson, Michael Bates.

The Saltires have stated that they will use this season’s matches - their last in the English limited-overs competition - as a chance to blood younger players and have subsequently decided to no longer award caps to those playing in the fixtures. Included are Michael Leask, Matty Cross and Paddy Sadler - none of whom have been capped at senior level - alongside present and former captains Preston Mommsen and Gordon Drummond.

Scotland squad: Preston Mommsen (captain), Richie Berrington, Calvin Burnett, Evan Chalmers, Freddie Coleman, Matty Cross, Paddy Sadler, Michael Leask, Gordon Drummond, Gordon Goudie, Majid Haq, Moneeb Iqbal, Calum MacLeod.

Group C, YB40, Glamorgan v Yorkshire at Colwyn Bay
The Welsh county have added fast-bowler Will Owen and batsman Chris Cooke to their Championship regulars for the match against the newly renamed Yorkshire Vikings. Overseas signing Marcus North takes over the captaincy from Mark Wallace for this season’s limited-overs competitions.

Glamorgan squad: Marcus North (captain)  Will Bragg, Mark Wallace, Chris Cooke, Jim Allenby, Murray Goodwin, Ben Wright, Graham Wagg, John Glover, Dean Cosker, Michael Hogan, Mike Reed, Will Own, John Glover.

Yorkshire have also added some one-day specialists to bolster their Championship side. Included are fast-bowlers Moin Ashraf, Iain Wardlaw and Will Rhodes and all-rounder Richard Pyrah. Ryan Sidebottom misses out and will do so for much of this year’s competition in order to manage his workload, while Jack Brooks, Tim Bresnan and Liam Plunkett are also omitted. Jonny Bairstow and Joe Root will play their last match for Yorkshire before linking up with the England Lions.

Yorkshire squad: Andrew Gale (captain), Adam Lyth, Phil Jaques, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Gary Ballance, Adil Rashid, Richard Pyrah, Iain Wardlaw, Steve Patterson, Moin Ashraf, Will Rhodes. 

Group C, YB40, Somerset v Unicorns at Taunton
Somerset have named an expanded 16-man squad for the visit of former player Keith Parsons, who again captains the nomadic Unicorns side in 2013. Max Waller, Arul Suppiah, George Dockrell, Lewis Gregory, Craig Meschede and Jack Leach are among those hoping to win a place in the final eleven.

Somerset squad: Marcus Trescothick (captain), Nick Compton, Alviro Petersen, James Hildreth, Jos Buttler, Peter Trego, Arul Suppiah, Alfonso Thomas, Craig Overton, George Dockrell, Steve Kirby, Max Waller, Lewis Gregory, Jamie Overton, Jack Leach, Craig Meschede.

The Unicorns, a team made up of either aspiring or recently-released county cricketers, have named a squad of 30 for the 2013 season, which includes former Nottinghamshire batsman Scott Elstone, former Leicestershire wicket-keeper Tom New, and players from the MCC universities such as Dean Bell and Devon Endersby. There most recent eleven, that lost to Middlesex in a friendly last Sunday, included former Glamorgan all-rounder Aneurin Norman, ex-Surrey opener Tom Lancefield and 2012 Derbyshire second XI skipper Gary Park.

Weather Forecast: Tomorrow will be mostly dry except for the far north, with only the occasional shower developing elsewhere. There will be prolonged sunny spells, with temperatures peaking at between 13 and 17 degrees Celsius.

County Cricket News In Brief:
Cricket equipment specialist have extended their relationship with Derbyshire CCC. The company’s name will appear on the back of the club’s Yorkshire Bank 40 shirts in 2013.

Moeen Ali and Gareth Andrew have both extended their contracts with Worcestershire. Top-order batsman Ali has penned a five-year extension, which will see him remain at New Road until at least the end of the 2018 season, while all-rounder Andrew has signed for two years, taking him until the end of 2015.

© Cricket World 2013





Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.