Daniel Christian Earns Twenty20 International Call-Up

Daniel Christian Earns Twenty20 International Call-Up
Daniel Christian Earns Twenty20 International Call-Up
©REUTERS/Tim Wimborne (ANTIGUA AND BARBUDA) Picture Supplied by Action Images

South Australia's all-rounder Daniel Christian has been named in Australia's 14-man squad for the two Twenty20 Internationals against the West Indies.

Christian is the only uncapped member of the squad as Australia continue their build-up for the ICC World Twenty20 in the Caribbean later in the year.

Leg-spinner Steven Smith, who made an impressive debut in the Twenty20 International against Pakistan earlier in the summer, retains his place in the squad, as does Travis Birt, who also made his debut in that game.

Michael Clarke will captain the side, which plays in Hobart on 21st February and in Sydney on 23rd February.

“The NSP (National Selection Panel) has selected a 14-man squad for the two KFC Twenty20 Internationals against the West Indies in Hobart and Sydney as we continue our preparation looking ahead to ICC World Twenty20 to be held in the Caribbean in a few months time," NSP Chairman Andrew Hilditch explained.

“The squad remains the same as the group that travelled to Melbourne for the last Twenty20 when Australia defeated Pakistan, the current world champions of shortest format. In addition, we have added Dan Christian to the squad as we continue to look at various options and the balance of the team leading into the ICC World Twenty20.

“Dan has been selected on the back of a successful KFC Twenty20 Big Bash campaign for South Australia and continued good form recently. We see Dan as an explosive all-rounder who could have a good impact for us in Twenty20 internationals.”

In 23 Twenty20 matches, Christian has scored 298 runs with one half-century and taken 19 wickets with a best of four for 23, scoring 54 runs and picking up six wickets.

Australia T20I squad: Michael Clarke (captain), Cameron White (vice-captain), Travis Birt, Daniel Christian, Brad Haddin, Ryan Harris, David Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Shaun Marsh, Dirk Nannes, Steven Smith, Shaun Tait, David Warner, Shane Watson

© Cricket World 2010