Dates Set For 2012 ICC World Twenty20 In Sri Lanka

ICC Reveals 2012 World Twenty20 Details
ICC Reveals 2012 World Twenty20 Details
©REUTERS/Philip Brown (BARBADOS - Tags: SPORT CRICKET) Picture Supplied by Action Images
Dates Set For 2012 ICC World Twenty20 In Sri Lanka
Dates Set For 2012 ICC World Twenty20 In Sri Lanka

The 2012 ICC World Twenty20 will run from 18th September to 9th October with four venues in Sri Lanka hosting the fourth edition of the tournament.

Colombo, Hambantota and Pallekele are the venues which will be used for the entirety of the men's competition while Galle will host the women's group games.

Big clashes in the opening stages include previous champions England and India facing off on 23rd September as well as Sri Lanka meeting South Africa, Australia taking the West Indies and Pakistan playing New Zealand.

Reigning champions England will open their campaign on 21st September against a qualifier while the tournament will get underway when Sri Lanka play Zimbabwe on 18th September.

"The ICC World Twenty20 is now a marquee event in Twenty20 cricket where nations challenge each other for the most coveted title in the shortest format of the game," ICC chief executive Haroon Lorgat said.

"The previous editions in South Africa, England and the West Indies have smartly established the ICC World Twenty20 as a major global event that is not only exciting and entertaining but embraces both men's and women's cricket.

"Nothing beats nation-versus-nation contests and when these battles take place in the newest, sharpest and quickest form of the game then you can feel the excitement in fans.

"We all know how passionate and loyal the Sri Lankan public is towards our Great Sport and we will ensure the tickets are affordable so that they can enjoy the event.

"Following the legacies and success of the recent ICC Cricket World Cup 2011, I am confident that the hosts, Sri Lanka, will deliver a world class event.

"I am happy that the men's and women's semi-finals and finals will once again be played on the same days at the same venues. Those match-days provide a great setting for both the men's and women's game and we remain committed to showcase women's cricket in this way, which is unique in the world of team sports."

The tournament will see 42 matches (27 in the men's competition and 15 in the women's) played over 20 days at four venues and the final two places in the competition will be decided at the ICC World Twenty20 qualifier, which will be held in the United Arab Emirates from 13th to 24th March 2012.

Group A: England, India, qualifier
Group B: Australia, West Indies, qualifier
Group C: Sri Lanka, South Africa, Zimbabwe
Group D: Bangladesh, New Zealand, Pakistan

Super Eight Group 1: A1, B2, C1, D2
Super Eight Group 2: A2, B1, C2, D1

18th September: Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe
19th September: Australia v qualifier, India v qualifier
20th September: South Africa v Zimbabwe
21st September: New Zealand v Bangladesh, England v qualifier
22nd September: Sri Lanka v South Africa, Australia v West Indies
23rd September: Pakistan v New Zealand, England v India
24th September: West Indies v qualifier
25th September: Pakistan v Bangladesh

27th September: C1 v D2, A1 v B2
28th September: D1 v C2, A2 v B1
29th September: A1 v D2, C1 v B2
30th September: B1 v C2, D1, v A2
1st October: B2 v D2, A1 v C1
2nd October: B1 v D1, A2 v C2

4th October: First semi-final
5th October: Second semi-final

7th October: Final

Women's groups and fixtures:

Group A: Australia, England, India, qualifier
Group B: New Zealand, Sri Lanka, West Indies, qualifier

26th September: Sri Lanka v qualifier, New Zealand v West Indies
27th September: Australia v India, England v qualifier
28th September: New Zealand v qualifier, Sri Lanka v West Indies
29th September: Australia v qualifier, England v India
30th September: Sri Lanka v New Zealand, West Indies v qualifier
1st October: Australia v England, India v qualifier

© Cricket World 2011