Day-night Test to be part of Women's Ashes 2017

Australia is the current holder of the Women’s Ashes having reclaimed the trophy in 2015
Australia is the current holder of the Women’s Ashes having reclaimed the trophy in 2015

Cricket Australia has confirmed the schedule for the upcoming Women's Ashes series to be played later this year, including a day-night Test as well.

The series will feature a multi format points based system as both Australia and England will compete in three One-Day Internationals, a solitary Test and three Twenty20 Internationals.

The first ODI will kick-off on 22nd October at AB Field in Brisbane followed by the second and third game at Coffs Harbour International Stadium on 26th and 29th October respectively.

The North Sydney Oval will host the first day-night Test in the women's format scheduled to begin on 9th November. The venue will also be hosting the first T20Is between the two teams on 17th November and the tour will come to the conclusion at Manuka Oval in Canberra where the second and third T20Is will be played on 19th and 21st November respectively.

A win in the Test match will be rewarded with four points while a win in the limited overs game will earn the teams two points with the winner of the Ashes series to be decided by the overall leader in points.

Cricket Australia chief executive James Sutherland believes the women's game has been on the rise in the last few years and the inclusion of a day-night Test will only make it even better.

“We’re excited to confirm the Ashes schedule in what is going to be a historic summer for Women’s cricket and we’re thrilled to be hosting the inaugural women’s Day-Night Test match at North Sydney Oval.

“The venues that have been confirmed are a result of a strategic decision to give this series the opportunity to gain as much exposure as possible and continue to build women’s cricket as a mainstream sport as we look toward the World T20 in Australia in 2020, of which the final is just three years away.

“A number of players have taken part in testing of both the pink ball and North Sydney as a venue and the feedback has been overwhelmingly positive.

“The decision to put the number one ranked team in the world in front of the Australian public across seven stand-alone fixtures was an easy one, ensuring they remain as accessible as possible to fans and the ongoing support from Channel Nine and our other broadcast partners plays a pivotal role in making this happen.

“Girls and women are playing cricket in record numbers and participation growth last summer was fuelled by the incredibly successful launch of the Women’s Big Bash League, with the second season also putting us on track for another record."

Schedule for Women's Ashes 2017/18 season:

22nd October - First ODI, AB Field Brisbane
26th October - Second ODI, Coffs Harbour International Stadium
29th October - Third ODI, Coffs Harbour International Stadium

9th - 12th November - Day-night Test, North Sydney Oval

17th November - First T20I, North Sydney Oval
19th November - Second T20I, Manuka Oval, Canberra
21st November - Third T20I, Manuka Oval

© Cricket World 2017