Dean Elgar Reprimanded For Hitting Stumps

Dean Elgar
Dean Elgar has been reprimanded by the ICC
©REUTERS / Action Images

South African batsman Dean Elgar has been reprimanded by the International Cricket Council (ICC) after hitting his stumps in frustration during the closing stages of the one-off Test against Zimbabwe in Harare.

Elgar was dismissed, bowled by Tendai Chatara with South Africa needing just two runs to win the match, which they did in the end by nine wickets.

After being bowled, Elgar struck the stumps and pleaded guilty to a Level 1 breach of the ICC Code of Conduct.

He was charged under Article 2.1.2 of the code, which relates to abuse of cricket equipment or clothing, ground equipment or fixtures and fittings during an international match.

The charge was brought by on-field umpires Aleem Dar and Chris Gaffany, third umpire Jeremiah Matibiri and fourth umpire Owen Chirombe.

Elgar, who had scored 21 as South Africa chased 44 to win, admitted the offence and the sanction, an official reprimand, proposed by match referee Roshan Mahanama.

Level 1 breaches carry a minimum penalty of an official reprimand and a maximum penalty of a fine of 50 per cent of the player's match fee.

© Cricket World 2014

Fixtures & Results
9th-13th August: Only Test, Harare
South Africa 397 (du Plessis 98) & 44-1 beat
Zimbabwe 256 & 181 (Piedt 4-62) by nine wickets
17th August: 1st ODI, Bulawayo
South Africa 309-3 (Amla 122no) beat
Zimbabwe 216 (H Masakadza 61) by 93 runs
19th August: 2nd ODI, Bulawayo
South Africa 257 (du Plessis 55) beat
Zimbabwe 196 (Williams 55) by 61 runs
21st August: 3rd ODI, Bulawayo
South Africa 171-3 (de Kock 84) beat
Zimbabwe 165 (Chigumbura 90) by seven wickets