Deonarine Hoping For Familiar Conditions In Bangladesh

Deonarine Hoping For Familiar Conditions In Bangladesh
Deonarine Hoping For Familiar Conditions In Bangladesh
©REUTERS / Action Images

West Indian batsman Narsingh Deonarine has never toured Bangladesh before and is looking forward to playing a part in his side's upcoming Test series.

Fresh from winning the ICC World Twenty20 in nearby Sri Lanka, the West Indies play two Tests, five One-Day Internationals and a Twenty20 International in November and December.

Deonarine, 29, has played 14 Tests since making his debut in 2005 and is hoping that his experience of batting in Guyana will give him a helping hand on the slow, turning tracks in Bangladesh.

"This is the first time that I will be going to Bangladesh and I am trying to learn from the guys that have been there previously," he said.

"Most of the guys that have been there previously tell me that the conditions are similar to back home [in Guyana] – it is very hot and the pitches are flat, on the low side, and slow. I am looking forward to the challenge."

Since his latest recall to the Test side, he has become a key member of the middle order and is also relied on to bowl left-arm spin - something which will prove to be a useful addition to Darren Sammy's attack.

"I have been performing year in, year out in the Regional 4-Day Tournament and I have gotten another chance," he said.

"I’ve been selected for a couple series now and I performed against New Zealand, so hopefully I can perform much better with bat and ball in Bangladesh."

Tour Schedule

13th-17th November: 1st Test, Mirpur
21st-25th November: 2nd Test, Khulna
30th November: 1st ODI, Khulna
2nd December: 2nd ODI, Khulna
5th December: 3rd ODI, Mirpur
7th December: 4th ODI, Mirpur
8th December: 5th ODI, Mirpur
10th December: T20I, Mirpur

West Indies Test squad: Darren Sammy (captain), Denesh Ramdin (vice-captain), Tino Best, Darren Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Narsingh Deonarine, Kirk Edwards, Assad Fudadin, Chris Gayle, Sunil Narine, Veerasammy Permaul, Kieran Powell, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels

© Cricket World 2012