Dhoni And Ajmal Named In ODI Team Of The Year

Dhoni And Ajmal Named In ODI Team of the Year
Dhoni And Ajmal Named In ODI Team of the Year
©REUTERS/Nikhil Monteiro. Picture Supplied by Action Images

The ICC have announced their ODI team of the year at a special function in Colombo ahead of tomorrow's main awards ceremony. India captain MS Dhoni is included for the fifth year in a row, while Kumar Sangakkara and Lasith Malinga keep their places from 2011. One man who is included is Saeed Ajmal, who controversially missed out on a place in the Test team of the year despite being one of the outstanding bowlers during the qualifying period.

Chairman of the ICC Awards selection panel, Clive Lloyd said: “This team, along with the Test team of the year was extremely difficult to decide upon but we feel the side has strength to bat well down the order while also having a good variety for any type of conditions when it comes to its bowling attack.

“It’s pleasing to include for the first time the likes of Virat Kohli of India, Saeed Ajmal of Pakistan and Steven Finn of England - none of whom have appeared in an ICC ODI team of the year before.” 

ICC Chief Executive David Richardson added: “I think we can safely say that this is one of the strongest ODI team of the year selections ever in the ICC Awards history. With six countries represented and a vast expanse of talent the team would be a challenge to beat for any number of opposition sides. All the members of the squad should be very proud of their selections, the panel had a tough task deciding the final 12 and it is a fantastic achievement to be included. ”

Former West Indies captain Lloyd was joined on the panel by former England Women’s captain Clare Connor; former Sri Lanka batsman Marvan Attapatu; former West Indies all-rounder Carl Hooper; and former Australia bowler Tom Moody. 

ODI team of the year: Gautam Gambhir (India), Alastair Cook (England), Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka), Virat Kohli (India), MS Dhoni (India, captain, wicket-keeper), Michael Clarke (Australia), Shahid Afridi (Pakistan), Morne Morkel (South Africa), Saeed Ajmal (Pakistan), Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka), Steven Finn (England), Shane Watson (12th man, Australia).

© Cricket World 2012




Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.