Dilshan Century Puts Sri Lanka Right In Charge

Dilshan Century Puts Sri Lanka Right In Charge
Dilshan Century Puts Sri Lanka Right In Charge
©REUTERS/Anuruddha Lokuhapuarachchi (SRI LANKA) Picture Supplied by Action Images

Tillakaratne Dilshan smashed an aggressive century to help Sri Lanka close day one of the second and final Test against Bangladesh on 371 for six in Chittagong.

Dilshan was dismissed in the final session for 162 after he had shared century stands with Malinda Warnapura (63) and Chamara Kapugedera (93 not out) to help Sri Lanka recover from losing early wickets.

Mashrafe Mortaza took two wickets in consecutive overs as after Sri Lanka won the toss and chose to bat first, as they lost Prasanna Jayawardene (0), Kumar Sangakkara (5) and Mahela Jayawardene (11) in an eventful morning session.

Mortaza struck in the first over to have Prasanna Jayawardene trapped in front and then six balls later Sangakkara was bowled.

Captain Jayawardene, playing in his 10th Test, made 11 from 46 balls before he edged Shakib Al Hasan to wicket-keeper Mushfiqur Rahim.

Warnapura struck six fours in 150 balls but after Thilan Samaraweera (19) was bowled by Shahadat Hossain, he added 119 with Dilshan for the fifth wicket.

He fell to the first ball bowled by Bangladesh captain Mohammad Ashraful, who had him trapped in front.

Dilshan blazed his way to his sixth Test century with 21 fours and two sixes, adding 173 with Kapugedera, who hit 12 fours and a six himself to register his Test-best score.

Dilshan, who faced just 165 balls, had earlier helped Sri Lanka score 165 runs between lunch and tea. He was eventually bowled round his legs by Enamul Haque junior.

Chaminda Vaas was unbeaten on one alongside Kapugedera at stumps.

1-0 up in the series after a 107-run win in Mirpur, Sri Lanka replaced Rangana Herath with Ajantha Mendis, Dammika Prasad with Dilhara Fernando and Michael Vandort with Chamara Kapugedera while Bangladesh introduced spinner Enamul Haque junior at the expense of pacer Mahbubul Alam.

© Cricket World 2008