Du Plessis To Continue As Twenty20 Captain

	Du Plessis To Continue As Twenty20 Captain
Du Plessis To Continue As Twenty20 Captain
©REUTERS / Action Images

Faf du Plessis has been re-appointed as South Africa's Twenty20 International captain ahead of the Pakistan series following AB de Villiers' request to stand down.

De Villiers will continue to lead the One-Day International side, however, which plays five matches against Pakistan from 10th to 24th March.

Du Plessis led the side earlier this year against New Zealand when de Villiers first stood down as captain and he will resume his role in the two matches on 1st and 3rd March in Durban and East London.

"Handing Faf the T20 captaincy is an exciting option for us to explore our leadership resources," national coach Gary Kirsten said.

"He showed a lot of potential during the series against New Zealand in both the T20 and ODI formats, and this will be another great opportunity for him to work on his role as a leader.

"Having three captains also allows us to spread the resources amongst our three formats, with Graeme (Smith) and AB also providing the ideal support in the Test and ODI formats. This is an important year for our limited overs squads and this new direction is an exciting step forward."

As South Africa continue to build for the 2013 Champions Trophy, they have once again rested all-rounder Jacques Kallis although de Villiers takes over the gloves as David Miller replaces Quinton de Kock.

Kyle Abbott, who was recently added to the Test squad as cover for Morne Morkel, is included in the Twenty20 squad as Dale Steyn and Hashim Amla are also rested.

South Africa ODI squad: AB de Villiers (captain), Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Faf du Plessis, Colin Ingram, Rory Kleinveldt, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Robin Peterson, Aaron Phangiso, Graeme Smith, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe

South Africa T20I squad: Faf du Plessis (captain), Kyle Abbott, Farhaan Behardien, Henry Davids, Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers, Rory Kleinveldt, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Chris Morris, Justin Ontong, Robin Peterson, Aaron Phangiso, Lonwabo Tsotsobe

© Cricket World 2013

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.