Durham Academy For 2007 Announced

The intake for the ECB Academy at Durham County Cricket Club for the 2007 season has now been finalised. Aged between 16 and 20, the twelve youngsters will benefit from working with Director of Cricket, Geoff Cook, and Academy Coach, John Windows. Graduates from the Academy include Stephen Harmison, Liam Plunkett, Graham Onions, Ben Harmison and six other Members of the senior squad. Durham County Cricket Club was one of the original counties that piloted the Academy scheme and its success has been demonstrated by the introduction of ECB academies at all First Class Counties. The ECB Academy at Durham will continue to compete in the North East Premier League next season. Academy Coach, John Windows, said, "The guys have been working really hard throughout the winter, training most days and they will continue training indoors until April. The Academy is vital to helping identify and nurture the Durham stars of the future, we've got a really talented bunch of lads and I'm sure we'll see them challenging for first team places pretty soon." Durham County Cricket Club Chief Executive, David Harker, said, "The Academy is central to our dedication to bringing home grown talent through the ranks, where representing Durham's First XI and then England is their ultimate goal. The lads benefit from quality coaching and facilities not to mention the guidance they receive from the more senior players at the Club." Durham County Cricket Club Membership is now available. Admission to all home Liverpool Victoria County Championship, ECB Trophy, NatWest Pro40 and Durham A matches in addition to reduced rate Twenty20 Cup tickets and priority bookings for international fixtures at the Riverside in 2008. Junior Membership costs just £25, Senior Membership is priced at £80 and Full Adult Membership is only £125. For more details, or to book please call the Box Office on 0870 389 1991 or visit www.durhamccc.co.uk. ECB Academy - Durham Name (Playing Style) Home Town/Cricket Club Luke Anderson (RHB/RH) Houghton le Spring/Ryhope CC Scott Borthwick (LHB/RALS) Sunderland/Philadelphia CC and Eppleton CC Richard Coughtrie (RHB/WKT) Whitley Bay/Tynemouth CC Paul Hindmarsh (RHB/RHM) Borrowdale/Keswick CC Richard Hopwood (RHB/OS) Middleton in Teesdale/Darlington CC Ross Kirtley (RHB/SLA) Peterlee/ Castle Eden CC Stuart Lobb (RHB/RHM) Hartlepool/Seaton Carew CC Scott Redhead (RHB/RHM) Aberdeen/Stoneywood Dyce CC Andrew Smith (RHB/Leg Spin) County Durham/Chester le Street CC James Tincknell (RHB/RHM) Cockermouth/Cockermouth CC Karl Turner (LHB/RH Leg Spin) Bishop Auckland/Esh Winning CC Ben Stokes (LHB/RHM) Cockermouth/Cockermouth CC
Official Durham CCC Website