England, India, South Africa, West Indies Win Warm-Ups

Anya Shrubsole celebrates
Anya Shrubsole returned figures of four for 10 as England thrashed New Zealand, bowling them out for just 48
©International Cricket Council

There were ICC Women's World Twenty20 2014 warm-up victories for England, India, South Africa and the West Indies as the teams began their final preparations for the tournament.

England dismissed New Zealand for just 48 on their way to a comprehensive eight-wicket win, the West Indies beat reigning champions Australia by 16 runs, India beat Ireland by 27 runs and South Africa overcame hosts Bangladesh to claim an eight-wicket win.

England's Anya Shrubsole took four for 10, Rebecca Grundy three for 14 and Jenny Gunn two for 10 as New Zealand were boweld out in just 15.2 overs.

2009 champions England then raced to victory in 9.2 overs with Charlotte Edwards making 21 and Tamsin Beaumont 13 not out.

Katie Perkins, with 15, and Frances Mackay, with 10, were the only players to reach double figures as as England reduced New Zealand to 19 for seven in the sixth over.

The pair managed a recovery of sorts with a partnership of 20 for the eighth wicket but they never got anywhere near enough runs on the board.

Edwards hit 21 in 17 balls, Sarah Taylor 13 in 17, Beaumont 13 not out in 16 and Lydia Greenway two not out in six to complete a crushing win.

Deandra Dottin, recalled to the West Indies squad for the ICC WT20, smashed 78 not out in 48 balls to set up a total of 144 for three against Australia.

Kyshona Knight made 21 and twin sister Kycia scored 18.

Most of Australia's top order made starts, but opener Delissa Kimmince top scored with 26.

Nevertheless, enough useful partnerships kept the Australians in the game until they eventually fell short, Anisa Mohammed taking three for 25 and Shanel Daley two for 10.

Bangladesh were expected to struggle against South Africa and were no match for their more experienced opponents.

They reached just 85 for eight in their 20 overs, a total which South Africa surpassed in just 15.3 overs.

Sanjida Islam (10), Farzana Haque (21) and Shaila Sharmin (21) were the only players to reach double figures as Shabnim Ismail, Marizanne Kapp, Dane van Niekerk, Marcia Letsoalo and Suné Luus all took one wicket apiece.

Lizelle Lee then led South Africa to victory with an unbeaten 50 in 45 balls after Rumana Ahmed bowled van Niekerk for 15 and Khadija Tul Kobra trapped Mignon du Preez in front for 12.

Kapp was unbeaten on 10 and Lee hit five fours and two sixes in her innings.

Poonam Raut made 50 not out in 40 balls and Mithali Raj 42 in 34 balls as India posted 148 for four against Ireland.

Smriti Mandhana also made 20 in 17 balls and there was a wicket apiece for Louise McCarthy, Elena Tice and Lucy O'Reilly.

Clare Shillington then made 47 in 43 balls to give Ireland a great start to their run chase before they fell away.

Opening partner Emma Flanagan made 16 and number three Melissa Scott-Hayward scored 15 before Ireland slipped from 61 without loss to 94 for eight.

McCarthy hit a quickfire 16 not out in nine balls but after Shika Pandey (3-24) and Soniya Dabir (2-19) had ripped through the middle order, there was no way back into the contest.

The Women's World Twenty20 gets underway on Sunday (23rd March) when Australia play New Zealand and Pakistan take on South Africa in Group A.

Group B games begin on Monday (24th March) when England meet the West Indies and India play Sri Lanka.

© Cricket World 2014

Group A: Australia, Ireland, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa Group B: Bangladesh, England, India, Sri Lanka, West Indies Fixtures & Results
23rd March: Australia v New Zealand
New Zealand Women 128-8 (Perkins 31) beat
Australia Women 121 (Blackwell 31) by 7 runs
23rd March: Pakistan v South Africa
South Africa Women 163-0 (van Niekerk 90no) beat
Pakistan Women 119-9 (Kapp 3-16) by 44 runs
24th March: England v West Indies
West Indies Women 133-7 (Taylor 56) beat
England Women 124-9 (Dottin 4-12) by 9 runs
24th March: India v Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka Women 128-8 (Atapattu 43) beat
India Women 106-9 (Prabodhani 2-9) by 22 runs
25th March: Ireland v New Zealand
New Zealand Women 171-3 (Bates 68) beat
Ireland Women 129-4 (C Joyce 41no) by 41 runs
25th March: Australia v South Africa
Australia Women 116-4 (Perry 41no) beat
South Africa Women 115-9 by six wickets
26th March: Bangladesh v West Indies
West Indies Women 115 (Dottin 34) beat
Bangladesh Women 79 (Quintyne 3-5) by 36 runs
26th March: England v India
England Women 98-5 (Taylor 28) beat
India Women 95-9 (Raj 57) by five wickets
27th March: Australia v Ireland
Australia Women 191-4 (Lanning 126) beat
Ireland Women 113-7 (Perry 2-17) by 78 runs
27th March: New Zealand v Pakistan
New Zealand Women 167-3 (Bates 94no) beat
Pakistan Women 108-7 by 59 runs
28th March: Bangladesh v England
England Women 137-5 (Edwards 80) beat
Bangladesh Women 58-9 (Hazell 3-4) by 79 runs
28th March: Sri Lanka v West Indies
West Indies Women 87-2 (Taylor 56no) beat
Sri Lanka Women 84 (Daley 4-15) by 8 wickets
29th March: Ireland v South Africa
South Africa Women 165-5 (Lee 43) beat
Ireland Women 79 (Ismail 3-5) by 86 runs
29th March: Australia v Pakistan
Australia Women 185-2 (Villani 90no) beat
Pakistan Women 91-9 (Perry 3-12) by 94 runs
30th March: Bangladesh v India
India Women 151-4 (Kaur 77, Raj 41) beat
Bangladesh Women 72-8 by 79 runs
30th March: England v Sri Lanka
England Women 86-3 (Taylor 36) beat
Sri Lanka Women 85-9 by seven wickets
31st March: Ireland v Pakistan
Pakistan Women 119-6 (Bismah Maroof 48no) beat
Ireland Women 105 (A Iqbal 3-18) by 14 runs
31st March: New Zealand v South Africa
South Africa Women 116-5 (du Preez 51) beat
New Zealand Women 114-9 by 5 wickets
1st April: Bangladesh v Sri Lanka
Bangladesh Women 115-9 (R Ahmed 41) beat
Sri Lanka Women 112-9 by three runs
1st April: India v West Indies
India Women 121-1 (Raut 56, Raj 55no) beat
West Indies 117-7 (Dottin 57) by nine wickets
3rd April: Semi-Final
Australia Women 140-5 (Villani 35) beat
West Indies Women 132-4 by 8 runs
4th April: Semi-Final
England Women 102-1 (Taylor 44no) beat
South Africa Women 101 by nine wickets
6th April: Final - Australia v England
Australia Women 106-4 (Lanning 44) beat
England Women 105-8 (Coyte 3-16) by 6 wickets