England Name Representative Squad For Euro Champs

England have named a 14-member squad for the Women's European Championships, which get underway on 9th August in Scotland.

The squad, which has been selected from players in the England Women's Academy and and the ECB Under-17's Development Squad, will play Ireland, the Netherlands and Scotland. Two of their opponents will progress to the ICC Women's World Cup Qualifier in Bangladesh in 2011, as the representative side is not eligible to qualify.

"This is a great opportunity for these young, high potential players from across the country to gain valuable experience of performing at international level," Paul Shaw, High Performance Manager for Women's and Girl's Cricket said.


"This competition provides the players with the opportunity to apply the skills they have acquired and developed within training sessions with their counties.


"The learning that both players and coaches will take from this experience will be huge and is crucial for the short, medium and long term development of each player."


England head coach Mark Lane will also be guiding the squad throughout the tournament.


England representative squad: Jo Cook (captain, Essex), Izzy Westbury (vice-captain, Somerset), Georgia Adams (Sussex), Amara Carr (wicket-keeper, Devon), Deanna Cooper (Kent), Catherine Dalton (Essex), Kathryn Doherty (Yorkshire), Alex Hartley (Lancashire), Beth Langston, Beth MacGregor (both Essex), Alice MacLeod (Berkshire), Lucy Maxwell (Warwickshire), Hannah Phelps (Sussex), Fran Wilson (Somerset)

© Cricket World 2010