England Women Clinch Series With 16-Run Win

England Women Clinch Series With 16-Run Win
England Women Clinch Series With 16-Run Win
©Action Images / Steven Paston Livepic

England Women 132-9 (Greenway 48) beat
Australia Women 116-8 (Blackwell 33) by 16 runs
Women's Quadrangular T20I Series Final, The Rose Bowl

England Women went through the Quadrangular Twenty20 International Series unbeaten as they clinched the title with a 16-run win over Australia in the final at The Rose Bowl.

Batting first, England scored 132 for nine and then defended that score by restricting world champions Australia to 116 for eight, beating their rivals for the second time in the tournament.

Lydia Greenway top scored with 48 for the home side and although she was run out after facing 36 balls, England survived a flurry of late wickets to post a winning total.

Captain Charlotte Edwards made 21 and Arran Brindle a quickfire 18 in 13 balls before England went from 129 for five to 132 for nine in the space of the final four balls of the innings as Brindle, Greenway and Danielle Hazell (1) were all run out and Jenny Gunn was caught and bowled by Erin Osborne for a golden duck.

Australia made a poor start in reply as Leah Poulton (1), Meg Lanning (13) and Jess Cameron (17) fell cheaply and England's good work in the field put them under pressure.

After Shelley Nitschke - playing her final Twenty20 International - was bowled by Holly Colvin without scoring, a partnership of 73 between Alex Blackwell and Lisa Sthalekar took Australia from 37 for four to 110 for five with an over to go, and although they were still in the game, they had been left with too much to do.

Blackwell made 33 and Sthalekar 43 before the Southern Stars lost four wickets in the last seven balls as England completed an impressive victory.

© Cricket World 2011