England Women To Tour New Zealand In February


England Women will head to New Zealand to play five One-Day Internationals and three Twenty20 Internationals in February.

The first three One-Day Internationals, played at the Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui, will be both sides' second set of fixtures in the ICC Women's Championship.

The ICC Women's Championship is the new qualification competition for the 2017 World Cup which sees the top eight sides play each other in three-match series with the top four qualifying automatically.

Cobham Oval in Whangerai (two) and the Bert Sutcliffe Oval in Lincoln (one) will host the Twenty20 matches before the teams stay in Lincoln for two further ODIs - which do not count towards the Women's Championship.

Last time England toured New Zealand, they won the ODI series 3-0 and the Twenty20 series 4-0, with one match abandoned due to rain, back in 2012.

"It's fantastic to be able to announce our winter schedule on the back of an exciting first round of the ICC Women's Championship here against India," England & Wales Cricket Board Head of Women's Cricket Clare Connor said.
"Every bilateral ODI series now carries even more weight for the top eight international women's teams as they strive towards qualification for the ICC Women's World Cup in England in 2017. 

"There’s no question that both England and New Zealand will be raring to go when play gets underway at the Bay Oval on February 11.
"The three T20Is in the middle of the tour present another valuable opportunity for the players to challenge their skills on the international stage in the build-up to the 2016 ICC World Twenty20 in India, and also the multi-format Women’s Ashes in England next summer."

New Zealand Women v England Women 2015

11th February: 1st ODI, Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui
13th February: 2nd ODI, Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui
15th February: 3rd ODI, Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui

19th February: 1st T20I, Cobham Oval, Whangerai
20th February: 2nd T20I, Cobham Oval, Whangerai
24th February: 3rd T20I, Bert Sutcliffe Oval, Lincoln

26th February: 4th ODI, Bert Sutcliffe Oval, Lincoln
28th February: 5th ODI, Bert Sutcliffe Oval, Lincoln

© Cricket World 2014