Essex Prepare For Final Friends Provident Group Game

Essex Eagles travel to Lord’s on Wednesday (May 28) for their final group match in the Friends Provident Trophy against Middlesex Crusaders. The Eagles guaranteed their place in the quarter-finals by virtue of the point earned in the rained-off match at Hastings on Monday. Victory by a sufficient margin in their final match would see the Eagles overhaul Kent Spitfires for top position in the South East Division – and secure a home draw in the quarter-finals in the process. How qualification works When teams finish level on points, their placings are decided by the following criteria: · Most wins in Group matches (victory for Essex against Middlesex would see them gain their fifth win, the same as Kent) · When teams have both equal points and equal wins, the teams will be ordered according to which team achieved the most points in the matches played between them (Essex and Kent won one game each in their head-to-head meetings) · If still equal, the team with the higher net-run-rate in the Group matches will be placed in the higher position (should Essex beat Middlesex they would need to improve their current net-run-rate of +0.43 to better than Kent’s +0.67) · If still equal, the team with the higher number of wickets taken per balls bowled in the Group matches in which results were achieved, will be placed in the higher position · In the event that teams cannot be separated by the above criteria, this will be done by drawing lots Essex have named a 13-man squad for the trip to Lord’s. Grant Flower returns to the squad after missing the last two scheduled Friends Provident Trophy matches due to personal reasons. Tom Westley drops out from the squad that travelled to Hastings for the rained-off game on Monday. Tim Phillips is still unavailable following knee surgery. Play is scheduled to get underway at midday. Essex Eagles squad to play Middlesex Crusaders in the Friends Provident Trophy at Lord’s, Wednesday May 28: Mark Pettini, Jason Gallian, Grant Flower, Ravinder Bopara, Ryan ten Doeschate, James Foster, James Middlebrook, Graham Napier, Chris Wright, David Masters, Danish Kaneria, Alex Tudor, Varun Chopra © Essex CCC
Official Essex CCC Website