Essex Team News Ahead Of Leicestershire Match

Essex have named a 12-man squad for their LV County Championship match against Leicestershire at Colchester, starting on Wednesday (August 22). Colchester-born Graham Napier and Tim Phillips are added to the XI on parade in Essex’s last Championship game against Gloucestershire with Ravinder Bopara absent on England ODI duty. Phillips will be deployed as a batsman only due to an ongoing shoulder injury preventing him from bowling. Meanwhile Alastair Cook (England ODI) and Tom Westley (England Under-19s) are also unavailable. New signing David Masters, who has agreed to join Essex on a three-year contract from the 2008 season, is expected to be named in the Leicestershire squad. Tickets for the Colchester Festival cost £15 (adults) and £7.50 (juniors) for each day of the LV County Championship game and £17 (adults) and £8.50 (juniors) for Sunday’s NatWest Pro40 match against Sussex Sharks. Essex CCC’s website is launching a new ‘Weather Watch’ service for this match. Visit the home page of the Essex CCC website ( to find out more. You can also check out the Essex CCC website for more information on the Shepherd Neame Colchester Cricket Festival. Essex First-Team Coach Paul Grayson spoke to the Essex CCC website ahead of the game: Grayson on Essex’s promotion hopes: “With four games to go three wins could be enough for us to get promotion. Colchester is generally a result wicket so the players are still upbeat. We’ve had a couple of disappointing results lately – including the defeat against Gloucestershire at Southend when we should really have won – but now we have a chance to bounce back.” Grayson on new signing David Masters set to turn out against his new team: “It will seem a bit odd seeing David Masters playing for the opposition but it will be interesting to see how he goes. We would like him to show our members and supporters that we’ve made a good signing but we don’t want him to bowl too well!” Essex squad to play Leicestershire (LV County Championship at Castle Park, Colchester, Wednesday August 22 to Saturday August 25) Mark Pettini (capt) Varun Chopra Grant Flower Tim Phillips James Foster (wkt) Ryan ten Doeschate James Middlebrook Andy Bichel Graham Napier Alex Tudor Danish Kaneria Tony Palladino © Essex CCC
Official Essex CCC Website