Essex Team News Ahead Of Twenty20 Opener

Essex Eagles have named a 14-man squad for tonight’s Twenty20 Cup opener against Sussex Sharks at The Ford County Ground. Adam Hollioake, Tim Phillips, Jahid Ahmed and Tony Palladino are added to the side on duty in Wednesday’s Friends Provident Trophy semi-final at Durham with Alastair Cook dropping out of the side from the Riverside having been rested by the ECB after featuring in the fourth Test against the West Indies. On what promises to be a memorable night at Chelmsford, a sell-out crowd will also enjoy a special farewell tribute to Captain Ronnie Irani, who announced his retirement with immediate effect yesterday. Ronnie will do a lap of honour to show his appreciation of the Essex supporters during the interval of tonight’s match. The Prospects of Play line (08718 716166) will be updated from 2pm this afternoon ahead of the scheduled 7pm start. You can also check out the ‘Forums’ and ECCC Diary sections of the ECCC website at for updates before and during the match. Essex Eagles squad to play Sussex Sharks in the Twenty20 Cup at The Ford County Ground (Friday June 22, 7pm start) Mark Pettini (Capt), Varun Chopra, Grant Flower, James Foster, Ryan ten Doeschate, James Middlebrook, Andy Bichel, Graham Napier, Danish Kaneria, Martin Saggers, Tim Phillips, Jahid Ahmed, Tony Palladino, Adam Hollioake. © ECCC
Official Essex CCC Website