Favourites Maintain Winning Runs In Nepal

Favourites Maintain Winning Runs In Nepal
Favourites Maintain Winning Runs In Nepal
©International Cricket Council

Hosts Nepal and favourites the United States of America made it three wins out of three on the third day of action at the ICC World Cricket League Division Five while Singapore survived a scare to beat Fiji on a day when captains led by example.

Nepal brushed aside the challenge of Bahrain to win by eight wickets, first dismissing Bahrain for 114, Basant Regmi taking four for 11 and Sanjam Regmi returning three for 18. Bahrain's innings lasted 42.5 overs but Nepal needed just 22.5 to complete a resounding win, captain Paras Khadka remaining unbeaten on 71 in 74 balls, hitting nine fours and three sixes.

Carl Wright and Aditya Thyagarajan scored half-centuries to help the USA beat Jersey by 66 runs. Wright made 76 in 120 balls and Thyagarajan 83 in 82 balls and was undefeated as USA recovered from 55 for five to post 253 for six, the pair adding 118 for the sixth wicket. Rashard Marshall then thumped an unbeaten 42 in 21 balls and despite the best efforts of captain Ryan Driver, who took three for 25, the States had a winning total on the board. Jersey fought hard, but were outclassed, closing on 187 for nine with former Stanford Superstar Lennox Cush returning four for 37 and Saurabh Verma three for 19.

Fiji put in an improved performance before going down by two wickets against Singapore. Batting first, they were bowled out for 194, a number of players making starts as Pramodh Raja took four for 26. However, Singapore lost wickets at regular intervals in reply, slipping to 87 for six and 106 for seven before they got home largely thanks to captain Munish Arora scoring an unbeaten 94 in 133 balls. Sakaraia Lomani was the pick of the Fijian bowlers, returning three for 33.

Fiji play Nepal, Bahrain play Jersey and USA meet Singapore on day four of the competition on 24th February.

Standings after three matches: USA, Nepal 6 points, Singapore 4, Jersey 2, Bahrain, Fiji 0

© Cricket World 2010