Friday 25 January 2013 

Finch Replaces Hussey In Australia ODI Squad

Finch Replaces Hussey In Australia ODI Squad
Finch Replaces Hussey In Australia ODI Squad
© REUTERS / Action Images

Australia have named a 13-man squad for the first two One-Day Internationals against the West Indies in Perth on 1st and 3rd February.

Aaron Finch has replaced David Hussey as the National Selection Panel (NSP) has responded to disappointing batting performances during the recent 2-2 series draw with Sri Lanka.

Michael Clarke is expected to make a full recovery from the ankle injury which ruled him out of the final game of that series although the games come too quickly for James Pattinson and Shane Watson to return.

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets.

NSP Chairman John Inverarity said: "The NSP was delighted with the ODI team’s impressive win against Sri Lanka in Hobart on Wednesday, in particular with Phillip Hughes' well-crafted innings and the bowling of Xavier Doherty and Moises Henriques.

"There were concerns, however, with the team’s batting performances during the series when the conditions were conducive to swing bowling, conditions that were beautifully exploited by Nuwan Kulasekara and Lasith Malinga.

"Aaron Finch has been included in the squad at the expense of David Hussey. A top four of Warner, Finch, Hughes and Clarke has good balance and the team looks forward to getting better starts than has been the case recently. David Hussey has been dropped from the squad as the NSP keeps a constant eye on the future.

"Michael Clarke is making steady progress with the ankle he injured on 22 January and we are confident that Michael will recover in time to be fit for the first of the ODI fixtures against the West Indies on 1 February."

Finch made his ODI debut in the first game against Sri Lanka, in Melbourne, scoring 16 at the top of the order but after he made four in the next match he made way for the returning David Warner.

Hussey, meanwhile, has played 69 ODIs since making his debut in 2008, but with just one half-century in the five-match series to show for his efforts, has lost his place to the younger man.

Australia ODI squad: Michael Clarke (captain), George Bailey, Ben Cutting, Xavier Doherty, Aaron Finch, Moises Henriques, Phillip Hughes, Mitchell Johnson, Glenn Maxwell, Clint McKay, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner

© Cricket World 2013

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.

More from Cricket World

Smith, Lower Order Give Australia Vital Lead

Australia Take Vital Lead

19 December 2014
Hashim Amla (left) and AB de Villiers batted for all but 15.5 overs of the opening day

Amla, De Villiers Dominate

17 December 2014