Print Page | Close Window

my new brittania bat

Printed From: Cricket World
Category: Let's Talk Cricket
Forum Name: Coaching
Forum Discription: How to improve your Game
URL: http://www.cricketworld.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=1075
Printed Date: 19 June 2013 at 2:21pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.71 - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: my new brittania bat
Posted By: bighitter
Subject: my new brittania bat
Date Posted: 26 February 2006 at 1:06pm
recently bought the brittania ton cricket bat from ebay fro 15.99. Just wondering what you think of it. Is it any good. Heres the link for it: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/English-Willow-BRITANNIA-TON-Cricket-bat-Ready-play_W0QQitemZ7220632304QQcategoryZ57261QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem - http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/English-Willow-BRITANNIA-TON-Cricket-b at-Ready-play_W0QQitemZ7220632304QQcategoryZ57261QQrdZ1QQcmd ZViewItem



Replies:
Posted By: crick
Date Posted: 26 February 2006 at 2:20pm
ive seen one of those bats, from that seller, they are ok quality english willow, but not all that good, maybe a practice bat or something, to be honest the best way to describe it is you get what you pay for!


Posted By: bighitter
Date Posted: 26 February 2006 at 2:46pm
yeah i only use it for practice, i've got a puma for in matches. I went to a shop to have it knocked in and they said it was kashmir willow, i questioned the seller about this as he said it was english willow, he denied it was kashmir willow but i have my doubts.


Posted By: Clobber
Date Posted: 26 February 2006 at 5:43pm
to be fair if you buy a bat off ebay you are opening yourself up to be ripped off - especially considering there is no such brand as Britannia anyway.


Posted By: SEHWAG NO.1
Date Posted: 26 February 2006 at 6:11pm
ye brittania is just a sticker the some of the indian batsman put on their bat because their sponsored or sumtin same as hero honda


Posted By: crick
Date Posted: 26 February 2006 at 6:24pm

i wouldn't call £15 a rip off,

but many of the bats on ebay are

"English Willow nurtured in India" which happens to be kashmir! so be careful and never pay too much for a bat off ebay, becuase sometimes you can get pretty good bargains!



Posted By: bighitter
Date Posted: 26 February 2006 at 7:50pm
if "english willow nurtured in india" means kashmir willow why do they call it english willow? and if it isn't a brittania bat what exactly is it?


Posted By: Clobber
Date Posted: 26 February 2006 at 7:53pm
i'm afraid it will basically be a cheap bat with Britannia stickers on it


Posted By: crick
Date Posted: 26 February 2006 at 7:55pm

Originally posted by bighitter

if "english willow nurtured in india" means kashmir willow why do they call it english willow? and if it isn't a brittania bat what exactly is it?

they call it english willow so that you think its better than it is!! 



Posted By: quicky
Date Posted: 04 March 2006 at 10:35pm
yer i bought a bat from the guy dead cheap and he lied about it, said it would be between 2.10 and 2.12 lbs and it woz 2.6 but never mind you can really wave it about and gives sum pretty good power when you hit it out the middle but not as good as my gm purist and hero they are amazing.


Posted By: bighitter
Date Posted: 05 March 2006 at 11:03am

the same man as me? My bat was meant to be 2.7 but it was nearer to 2.9



Posted By: rodneypopo
Date Posted: 27 April 2006 at 2:15pm
Yeah most of the Britania and Hero honda bats are form different mfg's with replaced logo. for example rahul Dravid uses the SG Sunny Tonny with a britinia sticker and Ganguly uses a SS ton pro.

You can even purchase the sticker them selfs and put them on any bat you whish.



-------------
I am here now


Posted By: marky
Date Posted: 29 April 2006 at 12:13pm

Britannia make biscuits I think,MRF make tyres!It's basically a money thing.Fact, when Ganguly lost the captaincy of India his salary dropped by $15 million (yes you've read it correctly) per annum.In India cricketers are paid enormous sums of money as they are tantamount to filmstars,and earn as much if not more.The batstickering thing is just a way of bumping up their earnings to the maximum possible,hence the Hero Honda,Britannia,and MRF logos.

Cheers,

Mark.



Posted By: mazzybabe.uk
Date Posted: 29 April 2006 at 1:24pm
MRF makes good bats though have you see Tendulkars its brilliant

-------------
The First Century I ever saw was Heschelle Gibbs' 228 against Pakistan


Posted By: Clobber
Date Posted: 29 April 2006 at 7:23pm
except his bat isn't made by MRF of course


Posted By: stroke master
Date Posted: 29 April 2006 at 8:08pm

crick, english willow nutured in india is not kashmir willow, it still is english willow just not very good as it tends to be quite hard. it is actually called hybrid willow.

 

kashmir willow is different, this is just for tennis ball, and cheap bats.



Posted By: stroke master
Date Posted: 29 April 2006 at 8:09pm

bighitter, your new bat seems ok, it is actually an SS bat, they are pretty good anyway.



Posted By: stroke master
Date Posted: 29 April 2006 at 8:11pm
sachin tendulkers bats are made by Bas vampire, mehnga ram who works for them makes his bats.


Posted By: bdm top stuff
Date Posted: 02 May 2006 at 12:12am
The best make in india that actually import there wood from ..... chelmsford who supply to 85% of bat makers are bdm top stuff!!!!! as endorsed by younis khan and dhooni who uses different stickers but if u lokk at edge of bat ul find bdm stamped into willow.


Posted By: red_snapper
Date Posted: 07 June 2006 at 6:56pm
There are many bats on offer on Ebay of varying quality - most of the higher priced will be very reasonable SS, SG, BDM etc made of English willow - and you will get a lot more for your money than English brand that spend massive amounts on marketing and sponsorship. My advise would be not to buy anything that says 'Best quality willow' or similar - demand the country of source to be specified or leave alone.


Posted By: Paul Alcock
Date Posted: 08 June 2006 at 3:52pm
Unfortunately the saying goes "you get what you pay for" but I would imagine if you are only using the bat for practicing then it will probably be fine!!!

I'm very wary with ebay these days. it's a haven for fake gear.


Posted By: red_snapper
Date Posted: 09 June 2006 at 11:19pm

I would agree with that but don't rule Ebay out.  There are also some very creditable suppliers - the low overheads of selling on Ebay do mean that if you find a professional source, you can save a small fortune. 




Print Page | Close Window

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.71 - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2011 Web Wiz - http://www.webwiz.co.uk