Four New Players In New Zealand Squad

Katie Perkins, Suzie Bates
Katie Perkins (left) and Suzie Bates are included in a new-look New Zealand squad
©International Cricket Council

New Zealand Women could hand debuts to as many as four players when they take on the West Indies in a series of three One-Day Internationals and five Twenty20 Internationals.

Uncapped players Samantha Curtis, Holly Huddleston, Hayley Jensen and Felicity Leydon-Davis have been called up while Katey Martin and Sara McGlashan, who both missed the tour of the West Indies, return.

New Zealand struggled in the Caribbean, losing a three-match ODI series 2-1 and then failing to reach the final of a Twenty20 tri-series also involving England.

Erin Bermingham, Rachel Candy, Sian Ruck, Amy Satterthwaite and Lea Tahuhu have been dropped.

Coach Katrina Keenan stood down earlier this year and has been replaced by Warren Lees as interim coach.

"There’s a lot of talent coming through in the women’s domestic competitions and the performances of some of the younger players have really caught our attention," Lees said.


Samantha Curtis (RHB, LS)
53 one-day games, 1041 runs & 10 wickets 41 T20 games, 556 runs & 8 wickets

Holly Huddleston (RHB, RM)
74 one-day games, 674 runs & 38 wickets
38 T20 games, 251 runs & 6 wickets

Hayley Jensen (RHB, RM)
37 one-day games, 252 runs & 21 wickets
37 T20 games, 505 runs & 35 wickets

Felicity Leydon-Davis (RHB, RM)
30 one-day games, 259 runs & 37 wickets
27 T20 games, 129 runs & 16 wickets

"We’ve rewarded that good form with their selection and look forward to seeing them get to test their skills against a strong West Indies side."

The first of the three ODIs is in Lincoln on 26th February while the Twenty20 series begins on 5th March.

That series of five matches will serve as vital preparation for the ICC Women's World Twenty20 in Bangladesh.

Speaking about the players missing out, Lees said that they were not being cast aside permanently.

"Leaving players out like Sian and Amy is never easy, but we’ll continue to monitor their progress closely.

"I think that Sara and Katey are great examples of how players can work their way back into the side and we expect to see them make every effort to do so.

"The balance between youth and experience in this side is incredibly exciting for us and we can’t wait for the series to get underway."

McGlashan earned her recall after top scoring in New Zealand's domestic Twenty20 competition.

In-form all-rounder Suzie Bates will continue to lead the side with Sophie Devine as her vice-captain.

New Zealand Women squad: Suzie Bates (captain), Sophie Devine (vice-captain), Nicola Browne, Samantha Curtis, Maddy Green, Holly Huddleston, Hayley Jensen, Felicity Leydon-Davis, Sara McGlashan, Frances Mackay, Katey Martin, Morna Nielsen, Katie Perkins, Rachel Priest

© Cricket World 2014

Related Articles


Suggested Topics

Fixtures & Results

22nd February: 1st ODI, Lincoln Unviersity
NZL 184-1 beat WIN 181-8 by 9 wickets
24th February: 2nd ODI, Lincoln University
NZL 274-5 beat WIN 180-9 by 94 runs
26th February: 3rd ODI, Lincoln University
NZL 221-8 beat WIN 114 by 107 runs
1st March: 1st T20I, Invercargill
NZL 120-7 beat WIN 88 by 32 runs
2nd March: 2nd T20I, Invercargill
WIN 7-1 v NZL - match abandoned, rain
5th March: 3rd T20I, Invercargill
NZL 133-6 beat WIN 109 by 24 runs
8th March: 4th T20I, Maunganui
NZL 103-2 beat WIN 99-7 by 8 wickets
9th March: 5th T20I, Maunganui
NZL 124-5 beat WIN 90 by 34 runs